We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simple luxury”
Review of The Oliver Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Oliver Hotel
Ranked #4 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2013

What a find--this is one of the nicest hotels anywhere, not just in TN. The rooms are beautiful, we walked in and there was ice in the ice bucket and music playing on the in-room stereo. Do not miss the Library, a great spot for a drink. Jessica's cocktails are amazing! It is close to some great places to eat and drink.

Room Tip: no breakfast, but there are a few small coffee/breakfast places within one block, and Tupelo Honey h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim and Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 477 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2013

Superior hotel: First class rooms-excellent bar/lounge-topped off by
an exceptional restaurant "Tupelo
Honey". Would highly recommend
the Oliver Hotel to anyone truly looking
for an enjoyable and relaxing time.

John Kroyer
Bonita Springs, Fl.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jkr7309511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Thanks to the staff, I had a very nice stay at the Oliver. I was a little surprised at how small the hotel (virtually no lobby / common area) and room was, but I guess it is to be expected in the middle of downtown (great location, btw). Hotel was nice, even though small for the cost. A special thanks to Teresa at the front desk, who was polite, helpful, and overall a large part of how enjoyable our stay was. If you are lucky enough to check in/out or make requests on her shift, you are in good hands.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atlanta_Tom78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I came to the Oliver on a Business/family trip. I have never had a more pleasant experience. No not everything was perfect. The wine bottle that they sold in the room had a dry cork but once as soon as I asked about it the bottle was comped and a fresh bottle was brought to my room immediately.
The staff was always willing to help no matter what I needed. They even went as far as packing some items left in my room as I rushed out the door to make a flight. They then shipped

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I came here on my birthday after a less than pleasant experience at the Crowne Plaza. The staff went above and beyond to make it a great stay. The rooms were nice, bed comfy and it is the perfect location to walk to restaurants, shops and bars. I will be back and would recommend it to anyone going to Knoxville. Well worth the extra money spent.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liz p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

An awesome, cool place to stay within walking distance to nice shops and restaurants. A five star hotel..I stayed there to celebrate my anniversary and wanted somewhere unique and not the normal holiday inn and I found that at The Oliver. Great place and I cant wait to go back..

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amber F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Our stay at The Oliver Hotel was pleasant in every way. The restored, historic building is beautiful. The staff was warm, welcoming and very helpful. The location is convenient and fun, directly on Market Square. We were upgraded to a lovely suite that made us feel like had stepped back in time, but with all the modern conveniences. Certainly The Oliver Hotel will be our first choice on all future visits to Knoxville.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, ask for a room off of Market Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveLove2Travel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.2 mi away
The Tennessean Hotel
The Tennessean Hotel
#3 of 87 in Knoxville
115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
#22 of 87 in Knoxville
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn World's Fair Park-Knoxville
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville Papermill Drive
0.1 mi away
Hilton Knoxville
Hilton Knoxville
#20 of 87 in Knoxville
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oliver Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oliver Hotel

Address: 407 Union Ave, (corner of Market Square), Knoxville, TN 37902-2112 (Formerly The Hotel St. Oliver)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Knoxville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Knoxville
#10 Family Hotel in Knoxville
Price Range: $190 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oliver Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Knoxville just steps away from the hustle and bustle of Market Square, The Oliver Hotel is an original expression of the city. Originally built in 1876 as the Peter Kern Bakery, the building had hosted everything from the Kern's candy counter and soda fountain to a drugstore, and dancing hall. In 2011, the property was renovated into what is now Knoxville's best boutique hotel with a style that plays tribute to the buildings history, while offering guests rooms with charm, sophistication, and modern amenities. The property features the Peter Kern Library Bar, a craft cocktail lounge; Tupelo Honey Cafe, an award winning restaurant; and Oliver Royale Restaurant, featuring a chef driven menu and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Kognitiv US Corp, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Oliver Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Oliver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing