We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Overnight Getaway!”
Review of The Oliver Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Oliver Hotel
Ranked #8 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
Smyrna, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Overnight Getaway!”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Oliver Hotel. The hotel is nice and cozy with an upscale feel. The room was very comfortable. The Hotel is witin walking distance to the Tennessee Theater and the great restaurants and shops of Market Square are right outside the hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    104
    19
    7
    4
See reviews for
73
205
17
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
118 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed at the Oliver for one night. Staff are very good, professional and really try to accommodate. Rooms are large, clean and decor is good. Great bathroom, twin sinks and huge shower. No problem with noise in the room.
When in Knoxville again this will be my first choice.
I was not impressed with the speakeasy downstairs and the bartenders next door at the Tuepelo Honey are far more creative and personal if you want a cocktail, plus the draft beer choices are great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Coughton54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Large room. Big bright bathroom. Comfy bed and peaceful setting made for a peaceful nights sleep. The staff is welcoming and quick to help. Great valet. On-site "speakeasy" bar with great drinks. Around the corner from restaurants, coffee and drinks. I travel to Knoxville 5 times a year for work and won't stay anywhere else. Great boutique hotel!!!

Room Tip: May want to request a room away from Market Square in warmer months as there can be noise from peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megp23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2013

If you are in town, the Oliver is a sweet little-known gem. I am from the area and stayed for a valentine treat. It was within walking distance of dinner, dessert, coffee and drinks. And within a 3 minute drive to the theater where we were seeing a play. The staff were extremely helpful when I needed them (forgot to print the play tickets). I was in and out of the hotel several times and each time I was acknowledged with a welcoming smile and/or hello.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, get an upgrade. It is worth it. The rooms are beautiful and just get better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GLBThappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The Oliver is quintessential southern charm with the style of NYC and the grace of 5 stars without the fuss. It has a speakeasy bar and a comfort food cafe attached. The staff go beyond the call of duty. It's a pure delight with a big city feel in a boutique package.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahbb4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Very comfortable and close to lovely restaurants and other downtown attractions. The staff was super helpful and we liked the decor, especially the letterpress art and the beautifully tiled bathroom. Super fun bar with delicious and very strong drinks.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Very comfortable and very accessible to Market Square. The staff members are well trained and very accommodating. Enjoyed a nice upgraded room. The library/speakeasy is fun and the drinks are amazing. Nice buzz on the location & bar. Coffee service in room works for us , with breakfast around the corner.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Knoxville
Hilton Knoxville
#22 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
#23 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn World's Fair Park-Knoxville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Knoxville Cumberland House
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville Papermill Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oliver Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oliver Hotel

Property: The Oliver Hotel
Address: 407 Union Ave, (corner of Market Square), Knoxville, TN 37902-2112 (Formerly The Hotel St. Oliver)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Knoxville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Knoxville
#10 Family Hotel in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oliver Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Knoxville just steps away from the hustle and bustle of Market Square, The Oliver Hotel is an original expression of the city. Originally built in 1876 as the Peter Kern Bakery, the building had hosted everything from the Kern's candy counter and soda fountain to a drugstore, and dancing hall. In 2011, the property was renovated into what is now Knoxville's best boutique hotel with a style that plays tribute to the buildings history, while offering guests rooms with charm, sophistication, and modern amenities. The property features the Peter Kern Library Bar, a craft cocktail lounge; Tupelo Honey Cafe, an award winning restaurant; and Oliver Royale Restaurant, featuring a chef driven menu and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Kognitiv US Corp and Orbitz so you can book your The Oliver Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Oliver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing