We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost there”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Oliver Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Oliver Hotel
Ranked #8 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Almost there”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

This hotel was remodeled ~1 year before our stay, and overall it is well on its way to be a great hotel.
Positive:
1. The rooms are comfortable. Simple decorations with wood furniture and a few local prints on the wall. Very modern yet locally-inspired feel.
2. The lobby and lobby bar are very attractive. The decor is similar to the rooms with more vintage Southern flair.
3. The location is awesome.
4. The service is very friendly.
5. The price is very reasonable. We also received a free upgrade from a king room to a king suite.

Not as positive:
1. Our room only had one small window and the A/C didn't seem to cool the room effectively. This seems to be a design issue. In the larger room of our suite, there was only a small vent (about the size of a bathroom vent). The window issue seems to be a function of the hotel's age, but our room had only one small (~3 ft x ~4ft) window that look out onto the roof of the adjacent building. We saw two rooms and both only had this view.
2. No room service yet. They are putting in a restaurant downstairs called Tupelo Honey, but it looks to be a ways away. Not a concern if you're ok with walking around the corner to one of the many restaurants on the block.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the outer walls of the hotel to get any sort of view from the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StateAndMain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    103
    19
    7
    4
See reviews for
72
204
17
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Great atmosphere, Very quaint and clean. Location is right in Market Sq-at the hub of the Downtown activity with numerous shops and restaurants

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Sq are a bit more noisy, Double rooms are huge with a great layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We had a great stay at The Oliver Hotel. Located in the center of downtown within walking distance to everything and right on Market Square. The rooms were very comfortable with very nice linens and towels. Free wireless. The staff was fantastic and very helpful. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east hanover, nj
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Room was extremely nice as was the bathroom and amenities. Location was perfectly set on the small downtown area. Air conditioning system is extremely noisy and woke us up a few times during the night. Also, there was an event going on downstairs and as we exited the staircase the door was open to the bar area where the event was so we peeked in and at that moment, the door was basically slammed in our face by at event staff person. Would I stay here again.....probably not. But its all about the customer service for me.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Got the room on a whim while passing through. Decided on the Oliver per tripadvisor reviews. GREAT location! While a bit expensive, it did feel boutique-y. The renovations seemed done on the inside of the hotel at least. Clean, updated, better than your avg chain hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank militrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2012

My family and I were guests of The Oliver Hotel on April 21, 2012. First of all, I would like to note the incredible location of this hotel... Right in the heart of Market Square! When we arrived we were greeted by friendly and helpful staff and felt right at home!

We were in town for my sister's bridal shower which was held in the Speakeasy (Library) of the hotel. Alex Gunderson was extremely helpful throughout the planning process, offering anything and everything she could to make the process fun and easy! When we arrived, the room was clean, perfectly lit and decorated beautifully! Alex was also present the day of the shower and was eager to lend a hand with the party preparation! She was extremely welcoming to our family and all our guests, and everyone commented on how lovely she was to work with! The room also features a hidden door, which Alex let us utilize to hide the bride's sister who came into town unexpectedly to surprise the bride!

All in all, this was the most special private party I have ever thrown, and I absolutely owe the party's success to The Oliver Hotel and Alex. I will DEFINITELY be using The Oliver Hotel for all my special events in the future, and you should too!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Overall the newly renovated hotel is nice, clean and the staff is eager to help. At first arrival we had a hard time finding the door to enter the hotel and walked past it twice because of all the construction occuring around and to the outside of the hotels building. In fact this construction started up and was loud in the room on Saturday morning around 930, but we were already up.

The lobby and bar slash library is very nice and up scale. The hotel only has 3 floors and the 100 year old elevator operates on 1800 times, not 2012 so be patient.

The room we stayed in was super small and we found ourselves bumping into each other often but the room was clean and nice with just a few issues as follows:

Safe didnt work and the staff could not get it to work even after a 10 minute attempt
Hotel offers shoe cleaning service for free but that never happened despite my request
Ironing board needs a new cover badly
Lighting in bathroom is not very bright
Ac unit is loud
No block out curtains, just wood shutters that let some light through in AM, not terrible
Ac heat required a room key to stay inserted to function (so request a key just for that)

Things I like

Room cleaing is done later in the afternoons. They also keep ice in your room
Nice big tv that I never turned on
Nice radio w iphone doc
Nice coffee maker
Nice mirror in bathroom. Swivels and magnifies
Nice bathroom ( clean w new tile and fixtures)
Bed was nice
Parking acrss street in garage was free over the weekend

Would I stay again? Probably so...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisTopherTemple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Knoxville
Hilton Knoxville
#20 of 87 in Knoxville
1,128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
#21 of 87 in Knoxville
521 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn World's Fair Park-Knoxville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Knoxville Cumberland House
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville Papermill Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oliver Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oliver Hotel

Property: The Oliver Hotel
Address: 407 Union Avenue, (corner of Market Square), Knoxville, TN 37902 (Formerly The Hotel St. Oliver)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Knoxville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Knoxville
#10 Family Hotel in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oliver Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Knoxville just steps away from the hustle and bustle of Market Square, The Oliver Hotel is an original expression of the city. Originally built in 1876 as the Peter Kern Bakery, the building had hosted everything from the Kern's candy counter and soda fountain to a drugstore, and dancing hall. In 2011, the property was renovated into what is now Knoxville's best boutique hotel with a style that plays tribute to the buildings history, while offering guests rooms with charm, sophistication, and modern amenities. The property features the Peter Kern Library Bar, a craft cocktail lounge; Tupelo Honey Cafe, an award winning restaurant; and Oliver Royale Restaurant, featuring a chef driven menu and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Oliver Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Oliver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing