We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenience and Beauty in Knoxville”
Review of The Oliver Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Oliver Hotel
Ranked #4 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2012

The Oliver Hotel is in the very best location in downtown Knoxville, right on Market Square and steps to Gay St.

The staff was exceptionally friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable.

The rooms were large and had fantastic furniture and accessories. Only thing we noticed was that there needed to be some fresh paint instead of minor touch ups, and some of the woodwork was dinged or chipped--in the rooms and throughout the halls.

There was construction going on outside the entrance, but it did not interfere with our sleep or time there. The hotel is not on a busy street, so it is easy to work around the construction. Also, there is no parking, but there are nearby lots and garages. Quite frankly, we never even used our car while there, because the hotel is within easy walking distance of all downtown Knoxville has to offer.

A great place to stay--we'll stay there again next time!

Room Tip: Some rooms face Market Square, so you get some noise from pedestrians at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rpoll6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

410 - 416 of 477 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2012

My husband and I ended up at The Oliver after not being able to find a hotel room along the interstate at 3am. The front desk clerk was extremely helpful and friendly. When we spoke on the phone, she gave us specific directions on where to park the car. Our room was very clean and modern. Even though it's a very old building with lots of history, they have done a fantastic job at renovating the rooms. Very eco-friendly as well.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sirpeternincompoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We traveled with 2 families, 3 kids under 3. The staff was wonderful, understanding and friendly with little kids. Rooms were very comfortable, great bathrooms, nice amenities. Lots of charm. Wonderful time, great little city with lots within walking distance.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

If you would like to stay at a boutique-type hotel while traveling to Knoxville, stay here. The building is currently being renovated on the first floor, but the rooms and the interior space are clean and stylish. The room we stayed in had a great view of Market Street. It was well appointed and very comfortable. The front desk staff will help with great excursion and dining tips. And the location is convenient if you are planning to be downtown or if you will be parking, as the Market St. garage is just around the corner and free on nights and weekends.

Overall, a great value considering how nice the hotel is and where it is located. Shops and restaurants are all walking distance. The experience could not be nicer.

Room Tip: Rooms facing west have a view out onto Market Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

This is an excellent place to stay while enjoying all that market square and downtown Knoxville has to offer.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

As a travel agent, I look at things as I would for booking a potential client. The property is located on a corner in an area of major nightlife and currently, major construction. It was hard trying to find the entrance with all the construction vehicles and equally hard to find a space to leave the car to check in. I finally called from the car and they advised me what to do. Since we wanted to treat ourselves, we reserved a corner suite. The property is in the middle of adding a restaurant, but what they have updated in the hotel, is very tasteful. The room was beautifully appointed with high ceilings, great amenities, and a great view of the square. Worth every penny I thought, until I was awoke at about 1AM with an argument and street noise from the square. The windows, of which there are many, had not been updated with any soundproofing in the remodel. At 7AM, we were jarred awake by very loud construction noise. There were no notices on their website or otherwise, that this was all going to be going on. And to be asking top dollar during this ongoing process is robbery. I complained at check out and they agreed that the website should be updated. Too little, too late, too expensive for what you currently have to put up with.
This upscale hotel is unfortunately located in a University nightlife area. Not a match for what they are seemingly trying to accomplish. I could not recommend this to many clients. This is, and will be, a diamond of a hotel in a very rough setting.

Room Tip: The rooms are all great....choose your location wisely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROYALTY_TRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Lovely hotel, amazing location overlooking market square. Walking distance to all of downtown and the Old City. Why stay at the run of the mill Hilton or holiday inn? Staff was friendly and accomodating. Rooms clean, spacious and beds extra comfortable. My only minor complaint is no full length mirror and somewhat dim lighting in the bathroom. But not a big deal at all. Otherwise, amazing stay!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndLinTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.2 mi away
The Tennessean Hotel
The Tennessean Hotel
#3 of 87 in Knoxville
115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
#22 of 87 in Knoxville
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn World's Fair Park-Knoxville
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville Papermill Drive
0.1 mi away
Hilton Knoxville
Hilton Knoxville
#20 of 87 in Knoxville
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oliver Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oliver Hotel

Address: 407 Union Ave, (corner of Market Square), Knoxville, TN 37902-2112 (Formerly The Hotel St. Oliver)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Knoxville
#4 Business Hotel in Knoxville
#10 Family Hotel in Knoxville
Price Range: $190 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oliver Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Knoxville just steps away from the hustle and bustle of Market Square, The Oliver Hotel is an original expression of the city. Originally built in 1876 as the Peter Kern Bakery, the building had hosted everything from the Kern's candy counter and soda fountain to a drugstore, and dancing hall. In 2011, the property was renovated into what is now Knoxville's best boutique hotel with a style that plays tribute to the buildings history, while offering guests rooms with charm, sophistication, and modern amenities. The property features the Peter Kern Library Bar, a craft cocktail lounge; Tupelo Honey Cafe, an award winning restaurant; and Oliver Royale Restaurant, featuring a chef driven menu and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Kognitiv US Corp, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Oliver Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Oliver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing