We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Clean, friendly, good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof Inn Knoxville - University of Tennessee

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Knoxville - University of Tennessee
Ranked #52 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
St Paul, MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, friendly, good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

After reading the reviews we choose here & were happy with the rate. It's a basic room but everything was updated, clean, flat screen tv, bedding looked brand new. Free wi fi too. No hair dryer though. Can hear the highway from our room but it didn't bother us.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingcatlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    66
    33
    26
    21
See reviews for
66
52
31
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here because of all of the reviews. Great value lodging. Close to really good food - famous Dave's is worth the trip. Kroger right down the road. Room was clean. Great price. We were very comfortable. A little small, but it is worth the money.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bbutler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, NJ
Level Contributor
143 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

The Red Roof Inn is located off of Interstate 40. The rooms were adequate and the rate was excellent. There were not too many ameneties, but for a budget motel at least it was livable for an overnight stay. No breakfast is offered, but there is a nearby Shoney's that has a breakfast buffet. There is no pool as previously posted (not sure where a prior reviewer was swimming). There were a few minor issues. Because it's so close to the interstate, you can hear the traffic. Plus there were some people having a barbeque in the parking lot at midnight. In the bathroom a panel was missing from the wall exposing some type of appliance. Overall, however, it was OK for a night.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NJ-Tennessean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

This was a pretty good discount stay, certainly a lot cheaper than other hotels in the area. Our third floor room was clean and comfortable -- good bed, shower, curtains, spacious suite. The air conditioner worked very well and provided a nice white noise cover for any outside noise that may have been present.

The staff was friendly and accommodating with a late-night check-out, and the Internet access worked reasonably well.

The property is definitely dated but maintained pretty well. The stairwell and landings near the elevator were poorly lit and a little bit creepy at night.

The traffic patterns around the hotel are kind of awful, so take that into account if you're trying to travel anywhere nearby quickly! Nevertheless, the hotel is well situated with access to quite a lot of dining and shopping options. The Kroger right down the road is especially nice if you're the buy-groceries-while-staying-in-the-hotel type of traveler. Easily within walking distance, though you'll have to cross the non-pedestrian-friendly Peters Rd.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KeepItCheap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaritaville
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

Decided to stay at this hotel due to the value and online reviews. I was not disappointed at all. I was greeted warmly at the front desk by Lorraine. Check-in was a breeze and I received the room that I reserved. The room was very clean and the beds were comfortable as far as hotel beds are concerned. I needed some advice on where to eat and what there was to do in the area. Lorraine lead us in the right direction. Lorraine made this experience worth my while. It's nice having people that seem they truly care about making you feel welcome. Thanks Lorraine and Red Roof Inn.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loudydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

Getting to location is tricky due to road construction and changes in the exits, but once there I was very happy. It had been a long day of driving, so I wanted food delivered that was not pizza. The receptionist had a menu of a family-owned restaurant that had about everything one could imagine. It was reasonable, tasty, and hot!!! The inn is decent and comfortable. I liked the indoor pool, which was a bonus!

Room Tip: Nice for families...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

We have stayed at this motel multiple times, and every time has been excellent for a hotel in this price range. The rooms are very nice and the upkeep is excellent for the brand and price. In 5+ stays, we've only experienced one cleanliness issue, when there was food left in the refrigerator from the previous guest, but the linens and bathroom are always very clean. The blackout curtains allow for a good night's rest, but you do hear some traffic both from people on the walkway and from the interstate. While this inn does not provide complimentary breakfast or a pool, I would still recommend this property over the other Red Roofs and discount motels in Knoxville.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Knoxville
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites West Knoxville
18.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Knoxville East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Knoxville/Cedar Bluff
9.6 mi away
Quality Inn Merchants Drive
Quality Inn Merchants Drive
#44 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
5.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Knoxville Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Knoxville - University of Tennessee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Knoxville - University of Tennessee

Property: Red Roof Inn Knoxville - University of Tennessee
Address: 209 Advantage Pl, Knoxville, TN 37922-2336
Location: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Knoxville - University of Tennessee 2*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great location for visiting Tennessee's attractions! 13 miles from the University of Tennessee, Red Roof Inn Knoxville University of Tennessee is just 1/2 mile from Park West Medical Center and a 10 minute drive to the Convention and Exhibitors Center. Oak Ridge and Chilhowie Park and Knoxville Zoo are all within 20 minutes of this hotel, while the fun of Dollywood and the beauty of the Smoky Mountains are just 45 minutes away. Conveniently located off of I-40/I-75, this 3-story Red Roof is located near numerous restaurants, shopping centers and a cinema. This Red Roof is renovated with all new rooms, contemporary furniture, new bathrooms with granite countertops, a comfortable easy chair and more. Selected rooms offer microwave/microfridge units and an elevator. All rooms have free WiFi, a flat screen TV and an in-room safe. Experience our complimentary coffeehouse-style coffee and tea, as well as our dining delivery service. In addition, we also have a conference room. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Expedia, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Knoxville - University of Tennessee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn - Knoxville West Hotel Knoxville
Knoxville Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing