We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a safe place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
Ranked #21 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2011

We stayed here for New Years, after their party ended we decided to go downtown at 1:45am, we came back at 3:23am. Someone from the hotel entered our room for no reason at 2:08am and stole my wallet out of my purse. The hotel did not know who the master key was checked out under or who had it at the time of break in and there are NO security cameras anywhere not even in the parking garage. Not a safe place for a woman to stay alone while traveling, anyone could walk in the room with a master key at any time. Plus no safes in the room to secure your items.

I had originally thought to stay in and go to bed but Im glad I didn't there is no telling who would've walked in my room?? Or what they could've done to me. Not willing to take those chances and not willing to let this one slide under the rug.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marketdirect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (557)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Knoxville
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

493 - 499 of 557 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2010

The hotel was right downtown with just a short walk to everything. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brunswick2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2010

Convenient to everything ...great staff !!! Great for business or pleasure...would highly recommend it!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tlh3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2010

This hotel was just dirty. The ceiling tiles in the bathroom were rusty. There was a filthy recliner in the room that I really just didn't want to sit in. The room was so dirty that I started checking the room for bed bugs. I didn't find anything, but I did find a condom under the mattress.

The room was noisy, too. I could hear everything in the hall, from the cleaning staff to the teenagers staying in the room across the hall. I could even hear the guy peeing (and groaning) in the bathroom next door. I guess that's why the room came with earplugs and an eye cover on the bed.

Just not a nice place to stay in Knoxville. If you want the experience I had, go to a budget hotel in the area. It'll be a much better value.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fakecleverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

Stayed for a wedding and got a good discounted rate. Hotel is convenient to the interstate, room was very clean, parking was convenient, although there is a fee. Unfortunately, there was some construction (drilling and hammering)around us that occurred from check-in until about 5:00p that would have been nice to know about since we stayed in the room during this time. However, it was tolerable. TV was big and was true HD (not the stretched SD you get in many other hotels)

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjbaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

My girlfriend and I both agreed that this was the worst hotel experience we've ever had. The hotel is very dated, run down, and dirty. The hallways look and smell like the Marlboro Man's lungs. In the bathroom we were greeted with stained towels and curly little hairs in the shower.

The walls are so thin that we were awoken at 4 am by the adjoining room's TV. After three phone calls to the front desk with no resolution (at one point the manager said the guy wouldn't answer his phone so there was nothing he could do) I had to go to the lobby to beg them to do something. The security guy goes into the offending room and tells the guy he doesn't think the TV is too loud but "the guy in that room keeps calling."

This visit and another call to the manager still do nothing so we decide to crank the AC for some white noise to drown out the Frasier reruns. Since it was 40 degrees outside and 50 degrees in our room we were a bit chilly the next morning and decided to turn on the heat. Bad idea. Something started burning and set off our smoke detector. We remained cold.

On a positive note to the extent there is anything in Knoxville to be close to (there's not) the hotel is a good location.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorCal99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2010

When we checked in the room, the first thing we noticed is that it smelled like urine! When we called the front desk, they said they didn't have any other room to check us into and would send someone in to clean and deoderize it. I don't know what was worse, the smell of urine or the "deoderizer." Then, I opened the drapes on the window only to find 4 bugs crawling all over them! Don't let the nice looking lobby fool you; the rooms are outdated, unsanitary, and the staff did nothing to help! SAVE YOUR MONEY AND DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanaLoves2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Knoxville
Hilton Knoxville
#22 of 87 in Knoxville
1,237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn World's Fair Park-Knoxville
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Knoxville Cumberland House
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University
0.6 mi away
Knoxville Marriott
Knoxville Marriott
#43 of 87 in Knoxville
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Knoxville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Knoxville

Address: 401 W Summit Hill Dr, Knoxville, TN 37902-1416
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Knoxville
#21 Business Hotel in Knoxville
#24 Family Hotel in Knoxville
Price Range: $123 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Knoxville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Knoxville, 20 minutes from McGhee Tyson Airport, is located in Downtown Knoxville. Walk to the Old City and Market Square to enjoy over 30 eateries, nightlife, shopping and outdoor concerts. The Crowne Plaza is convenient to the University of Tennessee, Neyland Stadium (UT Football), Thompson Boling Arena (Vols & Lady Vols Basketball), Civic Auditorium & Coliseum (Ice Bears Hockey), Knoxville Convention Center, Tennessee Theater, Knoxville Museum of Art, Worlds Fair Park, Volunteer Landing, The Star of Knoxville Riverboat, East Tennessee Historical Society, Blount Mansion, James White Fort and the Mabry-Hazen House. Each newly renovated guestroom includes free wireless high-speed internet access and a host of other amenities. Come experience our restaurant, Mahogany's, featuring breakfast, lunch and dinner. Order room service or visit the Library for Starbucks coffee or your favorite cocktail. Our 3000 sq ft Gym features state-of-the-art cardio and weight equipment and an indoor heated pool. Visit our uniquely appointed Gift Shop and 24-hour Business Center. The Crowne Plaza Knoxville has over 15,000 sq ft of meeting space, ranging from our Executive Boardroom to our Summit Ballroom, making us the perfect meeting place for large and small meetings. We look forward to serving you at the Crowne Plaza Knoxville. With our dedicated staff and exceptional service standards, we will exceed your expectations! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Knoxville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Knoxville Hotel Knoxville
Knoxville Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing