We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed Feelings” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Knoxville Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Knoxville Marriott
Ranked #36 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mixed Feelings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2010

We visited this hotel for our 10th Anniversery. The Lobby is very nice and the rooms are up to date. The outside of the hotel is showing its age as well as some Inside walls. The hotel is kept clean and the staff was nice and helpfull. Free parking is a plus. They do charge for internet. (who does that any more?) Beds are comfortable and nice. The second night of our stay the fire alarm went off at 12:30 and everyone had to evacuate the building. when we were allowed to return to our rooms and go back to bed the fire alarm went off again. so we sat in the lobby for a while. In the morning at 8:00 the maid was knocking on the door to see if we were checking out that day.(checkout is noon). We spoke to the desk clerk at check out about the alarms and the wake up from the maid. and he did what he could to make it right with us. mabey its time for a replacement or major renovation. The location is great and I would consider staying here again ,but I would also check on other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RMDNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    170
    138
    58
    31
See reviews for
131
102
24
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2010

We have been staying at this hotel for the last 3 years for Parents Weekend. It was old and tired 3 years ago, and continues to age. We would not stay there except it is convenient to walk both downtown and to campus.

I would recommend looking elsewhere before settling on this location.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CorndogCorndog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, RI
Level Contributor
222 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 419 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

This property is approaching 40 years old and is holding up respectably but I have concern that neglect may take over. There was an issue in one of the lobby rest rooms, along with just a filthy lobby water fountain. I also read two recent TA reviews of bugs... My room was clean and comfortable however. Good location on the periphery of the city. Restaurants are walkable but its 15 minutes and your walk back is all uphill. I recommend Calhoun's on the river. Typical expensive Marriott bar drink prices where a call Cosmopolitan runs you almost $15. Free parking. I stayed here for $92 but would not stay there again at any higher price.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edtoby007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2010

We have family in the Knoxville area, so when we visit twice a year we stay at the Knoxville Marriott. We like it because of the convenient location (you can hop right on the Interstate and go to the Smokeys or Gatlinburg). We also enjoy that it is an upscale type of hotel, with a very fancy lobby and free coffee in the morning. It used to have a lot more free amenities (such as free wireless internet in the lobby, and a Concierge Lounge on the 11th floor for people who were in the Marriott Rewards Club), but they have recently scaled back on all of the nice extras, and sadly it is now just a room to sleep in.

The rooms themselves are nice but nothing special. Although we stay here frequently, and have for years, every time we check in we have to remind them to bring a rollaway bed for our child (even though we reserve one online every time). We frequently get put in the wrong kind of room, near stairwells where it is loud, and have to correct it with the front desk. The rooms are reasonably clean, but it's an older hotel and suffers from just being old. The pool is supposed to be heated and available year round, but it's not. It's only open in the Summer, which is annoying. The staff is friendly, but most of the employees seem quite young, new, and frequently confused.

Despite all this, we chose the Marriott because it is the best choice we have found over the years (and we have tried several other upscale hotels in the area). Also, if you are government or military they have an excellent low rate.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caannie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2010

Stayed here for a few nights for business and it was a great hotel. The staff was friendly, the room appeared clean, and I have no complaints about them or the service. After returning home, a week later little bites appeared on my arm and neck and after doing some research and going to the doctor, it was most likely from bed bugs. I then recalled seeing on the second bed in the room a small brown bug crawling on the bedskirt that i didn't think anything of at the time but after doing some research, it was in fact a bed bug. I called the hotel a few weeks later to tell them about this and said it was most likely from their hotel although there was a small chance it was from a hotel I stayed at the night before that in another state - however, after looking at pictures of bed bugs, it definitely was a bed bug I saw crawling on the bed. My coworkers did not have any problems in their rooms, so I would suggest just checking your room before settling in to make sure there are no bugs there.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alohaseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

This is a great place to have a wedding event. Staff was fantastic! Went over and above whatever was asked...Highly recommend this hotel as well. Even for a get away. Parking is free close to the city. Within walking distance of riverwalk.
I'am going back there again larbor day weekend. Just love this place. Best staff to work with. This is the best Marriott I have ever been too. Great service.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arlene04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2010

This is the only hotel that I have stayed at that did not have Free WiFi, there was no mini frig or microwave although they did have a mini coffee pot, coffee, sugar, and cream but no stirer and when I asked she they did not even have any. Also there was no exhaust fan in the bathroom which made the room steamy hot everytime we took a shower. The restaurant is to over priced with no kids menu. I would not stay here again. As I said the Comfort Inn has better rooms at $79 per night.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irisheyes04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
#23 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Knoxville Cumberland House
0.6 mi away
Hilton Knoxville
Hilton Knoxville
#22 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn World's Fair Park-Knoxville
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University
5.6 mi away
Courtyard Knoxville West/Bearden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knoxville Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knoxville Marriott

Property: Knoxville Marriott
Address: 501 E Hill Ave, Knoxville, TN 37915-2516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Knoxville Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Kognitiv US Corp, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Knoxville Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Knoxville Hotel Knoxville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing