We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible representation of the brand”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Knoxville Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Knoxville Marriott
Ranked #38 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Michigan
Level Contributor
393 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Terrible representation of the brand”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

I completed a survey form earlier today for my stay, and I indicated: this is the worst Marriott I've ever stayed at. My opinion stands.

This property, according to an Internet search, was built in 1972. While it has been updated... It feels every bit that old. The rooms are poorly sound insulated with heavy traffic sounds from a road system that is not that busy. I could hear non-stop dripping noises. It got so bad over night I took a walk... Found a bucket on the floor above me in the center of the hall capturing water. Very classy.

The room furnishings were generally up to date but in poor condition. The room was clean but could have been cleaner. There was also a smell in the room and in some of the halls.

Staffing will generally rule the day and stay at a hotel for me. The checkin experience was negative with a relatively rude person. The bar staff later at night were generally not very concerned about customers, their personal conversations appeared much more important. On a positive note, the front desk staff at night were better when approached for a map and directions, they represented the brand well.

I wish I had spent another night at the Hilton instead of moving. There was an event at the Hilton that would have put me in a different room type... Something I didn't want to do... It would have been a much better choice though.

One final positive... Free parking, not much of a trade off.

Room Tip: Get a high room... Nice city or river views (depending on side of room).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jra3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    171
    142
    58
    31
See reviews for
133
102
24
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Just spent a night to attend a UT graduation. Every employee was very pleasant & attentive from the man sweeping the entrance to the bar manager who personally brought a beer to my husband at the cafe before the bar was officially opened for the day. We had a room with a view of the river , which was unexpected but appreciated since our room was a Marriott Rewards free night.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chattanooga
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed here for a UT Football game, and it was just excellent! Sorry to read about the other reviews about the other "issues". We had no such problems ,and just thought the staff was great and accommodating. We love the way they gear up for home games! Go Vols!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jason b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Marriott from the 18th of April till the 21st. We were treated outstanding by the staff. Stuart checked us in and our room was not ready but got us settled into the bar area and came and brought us our key cards when the room was done. We had a room on the 10th floor with a view of the river. Great room, great price. The only twocomplaints I would have is the Internet cost 12.95 a day and isn't that great and the bar prices are a little steep compared to the place on Market Square. I asked for the internet service for the time I was there and they comped it on my bill. If I was headed out to a UT game again I would stay again. Trolly picks up at the hotel and Market Square is within walking distance.. Fun time had by all.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank RLS64_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

The room itself was nice but when we pulled back the curtains there was mold growing the window. The view of the river was beautiful and had a lovely concierge lounge. The exercise room was in great condition and I wish I had time to use it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, KS
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

booked for one night stay on way through Knoxville. Very pleased with choice. River view from 10th floor was beautiful with view of river and sunrise over the Great Smokies. Concierge lounge was wonderful with good snacks in evening and breakfast in morning. Room was very clean and extremely comfortable. Staff was excellent and very helpful.

Room Tip: We really liked the high floor room on the river side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VarzilTheGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, Tennessee, USA
Level Contributor
99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We booked this room for a 1 night stay. We live 30 minutes outside if Knoxville but came to town for a concert & knew we wouldn't need to drive afterwards. The hotel was a little pricey at 119 + taxes but well worth it! Very clean! I mean ridiculously clean! Bravo to the cleaning staff! The rooms were large & not cramped. The bed was amazing! Wish I could pick the bed (fabulous pillows & all) up & transport it to my bedroom! Large flat screen tv & more toiletries than most hotels leave! This will definitely be our choice hotel for our future concert trips to Knoxville! Only thing the room didn't have was a mini fridge or microwave but we weren't in the room long enough to need them! Thanks for a fabulously clean room! That's the most important thing after all!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krmiller18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
#21 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn World's Fair Park-Knoxville
0.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Knoxville Cumberland House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Knoxville
Hilton Knoxville
#22 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University
5.6 mi away
Courtyard Knoxville West/Bearden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knoxville Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knoxville Marriott

Property: Knoxville Marriott
Address: 501 E Hill Ave, Knoxville, TN 37915-2516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Knoxville Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Kognitiv US Corp, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Knoxville Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Knoxville Hotel Knoxville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing