We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The kids liked it”
Review of Knoxville Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Knoxville Marriott
Ranked #43 of 86 Hotels in Knoxville
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The kids liked it”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

It was ok. We had a gymnastics meet in town. Now that I know the area, I would have stayed at Hilton or another hotel closer to the venue so we wouldn't have to drive and park.
It was quite pricey for what we got. Room wasn't all that fabulous. The food was expensive and greasy. Unfortuantely we had a neighbor who was not part of our team, who was LOUD until 3a.
So I didn't sleep well.
The kids loved running around the lobby and going up and down in the glass elevators.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    182
    149
    62
    35
See reviews for
139
107
26
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Erwin, Tennessee, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I called the hotel directly to make my reservation. I talked to Leslie, and she assured me that everything I asked for was guaranteed upon arrival. Upon arrival I was told that I would have a King room - not a Double as requested. I was told that requests are not guaranteed, and this was the only room available. The young lady that checked me in told me she did not have any notes on the reservation concerning my food order, or my request to be on the outside hallway with balcony. Again, she said these are requests and nothing is guaranteed. She states she only sees I want a room with a fridge. I asked to be moved to a double room on the outside with balcony, she said there was nothing she could do. I had asked for these things when I made my reservation, and was told I could have these things. When I asked how do I guarantee for the next time, she said she has no idea how to do that. She was rude to me, and apparently did not know the hotels policies on how to guarantee my requests. I gave a credit card when I made the reservation, I thought that guaranteed my requests. I stay with this hotel several times throughout the hockey season, and have always had a pleasant experience. This time, was not the case. Since my husband and I had our son with us, we all had to sleep in a king bed, in a room with an inside corridor window. The hotel was full of kids in the lobby till well past midnight, and they were knocking on the inside window all throughout the night. We almost got up to leave. I saw a security guard walking around and I thought he would ask the kids or the kids parents to keep them quiet, but no such case. When we checked in around 5:30 after telling the desk clerk my issues, I decided to go up to the room to get ready for the game. At around 6:30 our food did arrive from the virtual concierge. Since the desk clerk offered me a pad and pencil to place another order, I assumed our order was lost. We had approximately 30min to have a snack before the game. The cheese was freezer burnt and hard, the ham and turkey was slimy, and the bread was hard as a rock. I had to call down to the desk to have them bring up the fridge, again. I put the rest of the old food in the fridge, and we went to the game. After the game it was after 10pm, and kids were still doing cartwheels in the lobby floor. Running around the halls and pushing the elevator buttons (all of them) so it took 10minutes for the elevator to reach us on the 8th floor (before and after the game) The floor of the lobby and elevator were filthy with food wrappers and water. I almost fell in the elevator and also the lobby floor from water. After a restless night of knocking on the window, and noise from the doors slamming, I went down to check out. I advised the clerk "Nick" about my issues, and told him all my problems with the clerk who checked me in, and he comped my room service and internet charges. He said next time to call the hotel directly to make the reservations. Well, this is what I did and I told him that. I told him my entire story, and he said he could do no more than that, and I left with a bad impression of this hotel. We stay at this hotel cause you can walk directly across to the hockey games, and love staying normally. This experience has made me think twice about staying again. If complaints are made at the time of the issue, and are not resolved, it makes the entire stay not enjoyable. The clerk who checked me in was there that morning, and she saw me and heard me talking about my issues, and I pointed her out. She walked behind a door and did not come out again. This is bad training and bad customer service. She should have owned the issues and resolved them and not said over and over again how "requests are noted but are not a guarantee" I just wanted someone to empathize with me and treat me with more respect and not just someone to scowl at and frown at. I hope this hotel can make this right, and make me want to stay again. As of right now it feels like customer service is not important and my issues are not important.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

After reading other reviews, I wasn't sure what to expect. All in all this is a very nice property. Visited for an overnight stay in Knoxville with my family of four. The outside of the building could use a little cleaning, but what matters most is what's on the inside.

The hotel lobby is quite grand. A bit dated, but large and really impressed my children. Although dated, was very clean and well kept. Check in went smoothly and the front desk staff were efficient and pleasant. The room was nicely appointed, although nothing special. It was very clean and updated with contemporary bed linens and accessories.

Had dinner in the lounge as the restaurant was closed. They were serving the full restaurant menu. The food was fresh, well prepared and quite tasty. I had a pan seared salmon and my wife had a chicken dish.

Room was quiet and comfortable. We had a very nice stay. WOuld definitely recommend this properyt for anyone staying in Knoxville.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the outer hall. The inner hall rooms have big glass windows facing the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Signal Mountain, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
381 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The Marriott has been in its location on the east side of downtown Knoxville for some time. A few might find the look a bit dated but we still think the hotel's design retains a "wow" factor. The rooms are huge and well appointed; the hotel offers every possible amenity one would expect in a mid-sized city's upscale hotel; and the staff at the desk and in the restaurants was outstanding. We were there to attend events in the Civic Center and a footbridge leads right to that venue. Downtown is a brisk walk away and the free trolley goes right by the front door. We loved this hotel and you will too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waldentenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We had read some negative reviews about this hotel and were a little reluctant to book it. To our surprise those reviews were definitely not accurate. The hotel was beautiful, clean and well maintained. The lobby was gorgeous and lots of comfortable places to sit and relax. There was a flat screen TV in the room, which was contradictory to the reviews which stated the TV's were old fashion tube tv"s. We had to ask for a refrigerator and microwave which was not a problem. We also weren't charged for internet service in the room. (make sure you request no charge when you check in).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eleen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Had a great stay at the Knoxville Marriott. The price was no more than many other not-as-nice hotels in the area. Really impressed by the beautiful hotel atrium. If the hotel is offering a stay on the concierge level, take advantage of the wonderful concierge lounge, especially the free breakfast. Sure, the carpets dont't look new and the architecture is dated, but the service was top notch, the rooms were quiet, and the beds were comfortable. We asked for two doubles and a rollaway and the front desk gave us a free upgrade to a junior suite with a pullout sofa instead. I'll definitely return.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Magicflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

This is an old property. When I went to UT in the late seventies it was a Hyatt Regency. The place has a rather tired, old look. Worst feature, we thought, was that the Heat & Air system runs constantly and can only be turned off and on by a maintenance person in the hall control room. They are not available over night. So, we were there in November. We'd set it on 70, the air would kick on and cool it down to about 68. Then the heat kicks on and heats up the room to 72-73, then the air kicks on, you get the point. It would be great to just turn the thing off and on, but this old, inefficient system won't do it. The hotel is shaped like a dam, in honor of TVA. The heat and air bills must be very high, but I guess it helps the local economy.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank alvol79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
#20 of 86 in Knoxville
548 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Knoxville
Hilton Knoxville
#22 of 86 in Knoxville
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Knoxville Cumberland House
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn World's Fair Park-Knoxville
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knoxville Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knoxville Marriott

Property: Knoxville Marriott
Address: 501 E. Hill Avenue, Knoxville, TN 37915
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 86 Hotels in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Knoxville Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover downtown Knoxville from memorable and ideally located accommodations at Knoxville Marriott. You'll notice the difference in our downtown Knoxville, Tennessee hotel the moment you step into our doors, which are steps from top destinations including Knoxville Convention Center and University of Tennessee, Gatlinburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Knoxville Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Knoxville Hotel Knoxville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing