We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, friendly staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Knoxville Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Knoxville Marriott
Ranked #36 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
108 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

I won't bother repeating the "tired, need of remodel" quotes previous. They are true. Can't remember the last time I was in a hotel with a non-HD TV. Balcony is large but shared with another room and no seperation. Good corporate rate, nice concierge lounge on 11th floor.

Room Tip: City view rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    170
    138
    58
    31
See reviews for
131
102
24
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
72 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I've stayed at this Marriott twice over the past several months. I believe this Marriott is the worst one that I've ever visited. I remember when this property was a Sheraton (or whatever) twenty or so years ago. It's been my experience that when Marriott buys a non-Marriott property, very often the company does not invest the money in bringing it up to typical Marriott standards (another example is the Marriott in Buckhead, which I believe was also a former Sheraton).

The brutalist architecture is dreadful -- very blocky with lots of exposed concrete. That's bad enough, but well-appointed rooms could compensate. As far as I can tell, the furniture and televisions have been there for 20 years. A flat panel is nowhere to be found. The sofa and chairs were so icky that I refused to sit on them. The bathroom was so-so but still subpar for a Marriott.

The hallways and lobby are blah. The carpeting is old and gross. There are always plenty of room service trays and glasses in the hallway at all hours of the day.

Perhaps the best thing about the hotel is the staff. The front desk and concierge lounge personnel are always exceptionally congenial.

The breakfast was so-so. The offerings on the buffet was relatively sparse when compared to other Marriotts.

The only reason that I'll stay here is when I need to be close to UT for business, Otherwise, I stay at the Courtyard or Residence Inn at Cedar Bluff.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irishbrahmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snellville, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

First I want to compliment the staff of the hotel. With all of my complaints, the service at the Marriott was spectacular. Check-in and check-out was seamless. I made them aware of the issues I had and they did resolve what they could. We had the breakfast buffet, and the wait staff was great.

The Marriott Knoxville may or may not be the last brand name hotel in Knoxville that has not been updated.

The open areas of the hotel such as the lobby and room hallways show peeling wallpaper, spider webs, and faded paint.

The hotel room was not much better. The balcony curtains had water stains (on the 4th floor). The bath room was not thoroughly cleaned, and the door handle to exit the room was hyper extended to the point where a weaker person would have to push it to the left instead of just pressing down to turn it.

The internal phone system did not work properly, internet was $13 per night, and the televisions are old tubes.

Some may feel that these things are trivial, but I could pay the same amount of money in the area and have all of these things.

In comparison to my stay at the Hilton, the Marriott is a little harder to get to from the freeway than the Hilton.

Parking at the Marriott is covered and free instead of the nightly charge at the Hilton and the walkway to the parking deck is covered and mostly enclosed from the elements.


With all of my complaints, the service at the Marriott was spectacular. Check-in and check-out was seamless. I made them aware of the issues and they did resolve what they could. We had the breakfast buffet, and the wait staff was great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

This hotel has extremely poor service. They close the bars and food services down by 10 p.m. unless you happen to be there for a University of Tennessee event, otherwise you don't count.
We were told it is a training hotel...well whoopie...that is no excuse for poor sevice

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loretta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

I am a Marriott frequent guest. This is not one of their best properties. Like most it has its good and bad. First, it is old and looks quite weary in places like the umpteen coats of paint here and there. It smells musty, like the HVAC can't quite keep up anymore. Rooms are OK for an older hotel they are quiet and small and here is the real downside...they have old tube TVs. Yes, 1990s 25 or 27 inch tube TVs, no Hi Def, no Flat Screen...hard to believe. My most recent stay at a Fairfield had large flat screen hi def, but not this regular "upscale" Marriott...you gotta be kidding. I stay here only for the points and not the rooms or ambience. The staff is very nice and accomodating and in fact apologetic about the TVs. Bar is small, but the service is good. Food is OK. Nice that you can walk to Ruth's Chris from the hotel. That is the only place you can walk to BTW. I give it a 7/10. Oh and the concierge area is nice and Mustafa rocks, but only go there for the breakfast. In the evenings you can get a better glass of wine for the same price downstairs and the chocolate brownies are as gummy and bland as they come.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank COJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed at Marriott Knoxville for one night. Our stay was ok. The hotel's lobby is nice and clean. Our room was generally clean except for our bed sheet which had a yellow stain right in the center. However, we called the reception and they did send somone who brought us new sheets. So, overall, our stay was ok. The nice thing was the parking which was complementary.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rambo_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Hotel looks older, but still nice. We watched "Boomsday"/ Labor Day weekend fireworks from inside the hotel. (safe from the rain) Nice outdoor pool and (indoor) workout room. I think only coffee (and parking) were complementary here. Great location/walking distance to downtown.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
#23 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Knoxville Cumberland House
0.6 mi away
Hilton Knoxville
Hilton Knoxville
#22 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn World's Fair Park-Knoxville
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University
5.6 mi away
Courtyard Knoxville West/Bearden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knoxville Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knoxville Marriott

Property: Knoxville Marriott
Address: 501 E Hill Ave, Knoxville, TN 37915-2516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Knoxville Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Kognitiv US Corp, Marriott and Priceline so you can book your Knoxville Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Knoxville Hotel Knoxville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing