We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel stay ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn World's Fair Park-Knoxville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn World's Fair Park-Knoxville
Ranked #14 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
1 review
“Best Hotel stay ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

Let me start by saying this was the most pleasurable hotel experience I have had in a verrrrry long time. I have been traveling for the past 2.5 months at stayed at many nationally renowned, top-notch hotels in addition to some local favorites across the eastern seaboard, the Northeast, the south, and even the Midwest – none them came close to this Holiday Inn. Recently, I graduated from medical school, and like all young doctors in the United States, I am currently going through an arduous process called “the Match” which is a highly regulated, regimented process in which new doctors find their first jobs in residencies across the country. To make a long story short, in going through the match process I have had to go on approximately 20 interviews around the country at different hospitals/universities. Every university gives recommendations as to which nearby hotel to stay at (and they typically coordinate a shuttle and meeting spot with that hotel, so in a sense you are obligated to stay at the hotel they recommend). Naturally they always pick one of the fanciest hotels around (e.g. Radisson, Marriott, Hilton, Hilton Doubletree, Hyatt, or some specialty famed local historic hotel). It seems they do this by design to enhance the interview experience and increase the likelihood that you will remember your trip as a positive experience (even you hated the hospital, the city, etc.). Thus, I have stayed at some very wonderful hotels over the past 2.5 months and have always been extremely satisfied with my accommodations. With that said, the Holiday Inn World's Fair Park was by far the most pleasant experience yet during my entire 2.5 month adventure. It was the cleanest hotel, the absolute friendliest staff, the most helpful staff, the most technologically advanced, and had ALL of the little extra amenities that even the very best hotels sometimes forget to include or deliberately neglect. In order to enumerate all the reasons why this hotel was the greatest I’ve ever been in would take a 35 page dissertation. To spare you the details I’ll just give a few small examples of this hotel’s advanced amenities and painstaking attention to detail. One salient feature was their completely digitized air conditioning and electricity which is card operated and something I have never seen before, not to mention their “card wave” entry (no balancing act of holding your luggage in one hand while holding your room key in the other in an effort to try to swipe you card through a tiny slot). Additionally, ALL bathroom toiletries are already available to you in the bathroom and placed where you would expect to find them. Another small yet important feature that even the very best hotels don’t have is the number of available electrical sockets. Every single portable light in the room has electrical sockets embedded in light’s platform (this is a feature typically seen in many hotels) however, each light in this hotel has multiple sockets per platform. Not only that, but they are spaced out in such a many that even the bulkiest cell phone charger or laptop plug adaptor can fit in the charger. Nothing is more annoying than a great hotel with sockets your cell phone charger cannot plug into because there isn’t enough space, (for those of you who travel a lot you know exactly what I am talking about!). And finally, the staff was so very accommodating. Claire at the front desk took a great deal of time helping me find the very best restaurants in the city. Additionally, my rental car’s battery died while the car was parked in the garage, so the keyless entry audible “beep” was not functional. As a result, I did not know which car in the lot was mine as I couldn’t recall where I had last parked after having made numerous trips in and out of the hotel’s garage. I did know the car’s license plate number as it was listed on the keys’ keychain. So not one, or two, but 3 hotel employees stopped what they were doing and walked up and down the entire garage with me in, the cold, searching for the license plate of the car. When we finally found the car it would not start and the rental company agreed to send a tow truck to pick it up several hours later. Overhearing my dilemma, one of the individuals working for the hotel owner agreed to travel out of his way to take me to the airport in his own personal car. I gladly took the offer. Before going through my entire rental car ordeal and experiencing the “bend over backwards to help” mentality of the hotel’s staff, I had already felt this Holiday Inn was the greatest hotel ever. However, after interacting with almost every hotel employee on staff that day, I was more and more impressed with each encounter – simply icing on the cake, so to speak. Anyone traveling to Knoxville must stay at this hotel, it was my best hotel experience ever.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Byron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    232
    70
    21
    18
See reviews for
214
137
26
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

When I called the hotel two months before our visit, I was sent to the 1-800 number because I needed the rate associated with an event we were to attend in Knoxville. I made the reservation and received a confirmation number over the phone. When I called to confirm two days before our arrival, I was told that my confirmation number was for a different reservation for a different person... in New Orleans! After an hour and a half on the phone with two different people, I was told that they had no record of my reservation and there were no more rooms available. Then I was told that there were no more rooms at ANHY of the hotels in the downtown area and my best option was a Holiday Inn 10 miles away. Yeah, right.

Fortunately, I found a room .25 miles away - but for $30 more per night and not right at the convention center where we would be spending our time and where all of our friends would be.

Although the customer service reps on the phone were very nice and apologized, I am very disappointed that my confirmation was not honored in any way.

Lesson: Be sure to get a written/digital confirmation!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sues87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitch1kim, General Manager at Holiday Inn World's Fair Park-Knoxville, responded to this review, March 4, 2012
Thanks you for the comments on your recent interaction with our front office team. While I am glad they were friendly and courteous, I apologize for our inability to accommodate your needs during your planned trip to Knoxville. Please give us another chance to earn your business on your next visit to the area. When planning your next visit, please contact me directly to arrange your accommodations. I would be happy to book your reservation, personally. Thanks again for your comments. I look forward to seeing you soon.

Mitch Holloway
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

This is a beautiful property located on the site of the 1982 World's Fair. The hotel's staff was friendly and accommodating, and our room was extremely clean and beautifully decorated. Actually, the entire hotel was extremely well maintained, clean and beautifully decorated. We ate at the hotel restaurant several times during our stay and the food was tasty and nicely prepared. Even the dinner buffet was good. Two of the wait staff in particular, Sean and Siler, were excellent and made our dining experiences even more enjoyable.

This is also an eco-friendly hotel which requires a little getting use to. You have to use your room key to get the heating/air conditioning unit to operate. Initially, our unit would not operate but the maintainence staff was very quick to come up to our room and reset the unit. After that, everything worked fine.

On the negative side, our bathroom, while nicely appointed, was extremely small and tight. Also, the hotel bar closed at 11:00 pm and did so by turning on harsh bright lights to chase the patrons away. The Sunday breakfast buffet had a nice assortment, but the food was not very hot.

Lastly, we were there as part of a group using the Convention Center facilities which were very nice, but because of the parking restrictions, the unloading and loading was very inconvenient. For a facility of this size, you would think they would have better accommodations for unloading and loading. Other than that, I liked the Convention Center.

Overall, this is a nice property and despite the few negaitves, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VA_Cameo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

I was responsible to find a different location for our quarterly meeting, normal location was not available. We met in one of their board rooms on the second floor. The entire staff was extremely helpful form the initial reservation process through the actual meeting period. The room was very comfortable and the chairs were extremely comfortable. The room was prepared for our meeting and parking was no issue for downtown as they have their own parking garage. Food provided was much better than our normal site and regularly serviced with out need to call. The other executives found this to be a very good experience, commenting that it was much better than expected. Again, I cannot thank the staff enough for the wonderful service they provided the two days that we met, lunch was very good with an expanded limited menu that had something for everyone. A very special thanks to the Holiday Inn for making this a very good experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2011

I was there for a week-long business trip. The staff was wonderful, not only friendly but also very knowledgeable. The business center was excellent. I needed legal paper and it was brought to me in seconds. Anything I asked for was done promptly and with a smile. Room was very clean. Bed was very comfortable. Excellent location. Restaurant food was awesome I had steak and it was done to perfection. Pool was warm and very clean. Everything was like a 5 star hotel. I will stay there again on my next trip.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

We had an office Christmas party at their new banquet facilities, and we were all very impressed with the treatment received. The food was great and the service flawless.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nancyndan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

Its Thanksgiving weekend and our family wanted to go see the festival of trees in Knoxville at the convention center, we decided to stay at the Holiday Inn Worlds Fair hotel.WOW is the only word i can use, it felt like a five star resort. We are no small family to say the least we have 5 boys(12,8,3,2,1) and had two nieces(12,8) and grandparents with us for this holiday trip.

The hotel put us in a great corner suite with a living area and kitchenet, we had three full bathrooms which was much needed to say the least and then the grandparents got their own room away from the children to relax. Each room had it own large flat screen so there wee plenty of space to watch football for me and papaw while the kids got to watch their shows.

Room service was very fast and even brought us breakfast after they were onto the lunch menu one morning, the hotel was able to get me tickets to the festival of trees and have them waiting on me at the hotel when we arrived, breakfast on the last day was fit for royalty over looking the worlds fair park on a winter morning(all that was missing was the snow). Management was amazing, when we left the room with one key to a door and accidentially left the safety lock on that door(went out another door) they happily created another key for us and offered to go up and remove the safety lock from that door. When we needed directions to local restaurants the staff at the front desk had maps and gave easy directions to go to all of Knoxville's best restaurants downtown which all are within walking distance!

There was a ice ring at market square(where there is 10-15 AWESOME restaurants) with live music that the kids went crazy for that was only a couple blocks from the hotel. And the main reason for the trip, the festival of trees, AMAZING the activites, trees, and lights that were there. If you have children then this trip and staying at the Holiday Inn Worlds Fair right beside the convention center is one you need to put on your bucket list, it was truely memories that we all will cherish for a lifetime! Thank you so much to everyone that made our Thanksgiving so memoriable at the Holiday Inn Worlds Fair, your hotel truely represents the best in hospitality!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wannaseetheworld41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Knoxville
Hilton Knoxville
#22 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
#23 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Knoxville Cumberland House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville Papermill Drive
0.7 mi away
Knoxville Marriott
Knoxville Marriott
#36 of 87 in Knoxville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn World's Fair Park-Knoxville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn World's Fair Park-Knoxville

Property: Holiday Inn World's Fair Park-Knoxville
Address: 525 Henley Street, Knoxville, TN 37902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Knoxville
#7 Family Hotel in Knoxville
#13 Romantic Hotel in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn World's Fair Park-Knoxville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn World's Fair Park is located in the heart of Downtown Knoxville, Tennessee. We are currently updating our spacious facility with the latest technology and a trendy atmosphere. Whether you are traveling solo or in a large group, our hospitality is like no other, However, don't take our word for it, experience this for yourself. Can't wait to see you here and have a safe trip! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Kognitiv US Corp, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn World's Fair Park-Knoxville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn World`s Fair Park Hotel Knoxville
Holiday Inn Select Knoxville
Holiday Inn Knoxville
Knoxville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing