We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I enjoyed my stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Knoxville Central
Ranked #55 of 86 Hotels in Knoxville
Johnson City, Tennessee
2 reviews
“I enjoyed my stay”
Reviewed November 9, 2011

I called on Saturday night October 29 and made my reservations for a full week, site unseen. I had read previous reviews and was a little nervous about staying there but it was close to the business I needed to go to. The reservation process was easy and I got a very good rate.

I arrived around 8:30 pm, the desk clerk was very nice and check in went very smoothly. I stayed until Thursday when I unexpectedly had to leave. My room was on the first floor but it was very clean, the bed was wonderful and my bathroom was spotless (I had read previous reviews so i checked these areas very carefully. I wore white socks in the room and they stayed clean. Breakfast was adequate with scrambled eggs and self made waffles, cereal, bagels and toast as well as juice and coffee. I was satisfied. I would stay here again should the need arise.

Room Tip: I don't know any tips. My room was on the first floor and I could hear water running occasional...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neonjudea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    45
    49
    28
    30
See reviews for
71
60
22
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Spent the night at this Red Roof on Thursday and it was not too bad. It is an older hotel, so the furnishings are not very modern, but my bed was comfortable, the room was clean and the man at the front desk was informative and nice. It did smell funny when I checked in and it had been raining so I wonder if it was just that musty wet smell, but when I checked out the next morning, I could smell the air freshener everywhere, so there must have been an issue to cause the smell and it was apparent to everyone since it was corrected overnight. The caulk in the bathroom is old but it was not dirty or mildewed. I did not have breakfast so I can't comment on that but there is free wifi that worked beautifully and was hassle free to log onto. I just spent one night but it was not too bad at all.

Room Tip: I chose a ground floor room near the elevator because it is a very large hotel and I can't do a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyersburg tn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2011

This a very old hotel.Long, dark indoor hallways. Outdated furniture and the view of an abandoned part of the hotel.Two connecting doors to gosh knows where! Roaches in the breakfast area. Not a family place to stay. If it wasn't so late when we got there, we would have left. STAY AWAY!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rsn4onashoestring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We took a chance on this hotel that was formally Holiday Inn @Papermill. From the minute we walked in the door, Steven made us feel welcome. Because we were leary about Red Roof from previous experience, we did not have high expectations. Steven's warm welcome, quiet room selection for us, recommendation for eating places and even suggestions for areas to visit in Memphis, where we were headed, made all the difference in the world. The room was excellent, the breakfast was good and the overall experience will be memorable. We don't know if this young man will stay in the hospitality business but if he does, he should be managing a property. Better yet, he should be a front desk staff trainer. We just have 5 daughters but I would be proud to call someone of his professional and sincere talent level "our son". Please tell him Hello from the Hennessys!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gardener8764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

The front desk was wonderful. My room was next o a barking dog, and on the other side was a wild couple. Walls ry thin and the coin laundry took my money. The staff did readily refund it. never felt clean in the room

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissDeb54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Staff was welcoming and warm..we were on the 2nd floor, nice thing was we had an elevator,,and a luggage rack on wheels, so we did not have to drag out stuff to the room, was nice.Hubby went to the bathroom to put our toilet bags in there, and came out and said there was no shower curtain,, we were going out to eat any way so we notified the front desk, and was told it would be there when we got back,breakfast was nice, was quite a bit of food ..I love the belgian waffles, Hub and I wanted to go to the Smokey Mountains and take a look around,so we decided to stay in this motel one more night. We were gone all day , we got back we were tired and wanted to eat our food, and lay down and go to sleep, no sheets on the bed..every thing was tossed around took 30 min or longer for them to send up someone to make the bed..it took 2 GROWN MEN to make the bed, this morning there were 4 young women doing rooms..guy at front desk was willing to move us into a different room,, nahhhhh.. all our STUFF was already in the room.
The property could use a make over. Beds were comfy carpets in our room was clean..Nice big tv..microwave, fridge, iron, and board..quite comfy really.. would stay here again:-)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CloggieUsa2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2011

My husband and I traveled from NY to Knoxville, Tennessee. We stayed at one other Red Roof in Ky. and we have stayed at several over the past 3 years. None of the former Red Roofs and Ky can compare to the Kirby Road Red Roof. It was absolutely bright, CLEAN, newer enviroment, had all the amenities. The staff was extremely professional, pleasant, and helpful. We would HIGHLY recommend this Red Roof...........Oh yes, the hotel was full of Tennessee fans for the game and there was NO noise or inconvenience. Great place!

Room Tip: We stayed in a Supreme? King bed room. Super. and the breakfast was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank n k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Knoxville Central Papermill
13.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Knoxville East
2.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Knoxville - West Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Knoxville West/Bearden
4.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Knoxville North - Merchants Drive
9.8 mi away
Days Inn Knoxville East
Days Inn Knoxville East
#39 of 86 in Knoxville
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Knoxville Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Knoxville Central

Property: Red Roof Inn Knoxville Central
Address: 1315 Kirby Rd, Knoxville, TN 37909-2850 (Formerly Holiday Inn Central @ Papermill)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 86 Hotels in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Roof Inn Knoxville Central 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, Red Roof Knoxville Central is convenient to so many Knoxville attractions, yet its quiet suburban location is restful and relaxing. If you’re here on business, downtown Knoxville and University of Tennessee are both just 5 minutes away. West Town Mall, Knoxville Convention Center, U of Tennessee Medical Center, Neyland Stadium, Lakeshore Park, and Knoxville Racquet Club are also nearby. The Army Reserve Base and Tennessee National Guard facilities are also close by. If you’re interested in visiting the Smoky Mountains, it’s a pleasant drive of less than an hour. Conveniently located near I40, exit 383, Red Roof Knoxville Central has great shopping just around the corner, and a number of great restaurants within a half mile.Red Roof Knoxville Central features a business center, interior corridors, free hot breakfast featuring eggs and sausage, flat screen TVS, a free fitness facility, a coin laundry, free high speed wireless internet, a sparkling seasonal pool (open May through September), and free on-site parking and motorcoach parking. Our guest rooms feature spacious sitting areas, custom furnishings, overstuffed chairs and sofas, and dedicated workspaces. You’ll also enjoy cable TV, data ports, hair dryers, in-room coffee makers, and irons and ironing boards in all rooms. Selected rooms also offer microfridges and microwaves. Experience our complimentary coffeehouse –style coffee and tea, as well as our dining delivery service and free morning newspapers. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Red Roof Inn Knoxville Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Knoxville Central Hotel Knoxville
Holiday Inn Central Papermill
Holiday Inn Knoxville
Knoxville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing