We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Below Hilton Standards” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Knoxville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Knoxville
Ranked #21 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
JLP246
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Below Hilton Standards”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Hilton Knoxville for two nights in January. The hotel itself was ok, our room (on the 18th floor) was nice and the bathroom was decent. The heating/air conditioning unit did not work, it was either boiling hot or freezing cold in our room. The fan in our bathroom ran constantly.

The worst part of the hotel was the service. The front desk staff was rude and less than helpful. I understand the hotel was busy but they acted annoyed every time we approached the desk. The manager was also rude and never returned my calls.

The city of Knoxville was pretty boring, there was very little going on and not much to do.

Overall we were very disappointed with the service at the hotel and would not return to the Knoxville Hilton. We are HHonors Gold members and have stayed in dozens of Hiltons and this one was one of the worst.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    339
    187
    79
    51
See reviews for
299
208
61
407
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Goodletttsville, TN
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2008

Stayed at this hotel 2 nights for basketball week-end. Hotel adjusted rate when I found a cheaper rate on their web site the day before my reservation. Bed and breakfast rate is the best value for this hotel because the breakfast is delicious and we had attentive service both days. The first room they put us in had a smoky smell and crying baby next door but they quickly put us in another room. Recommend keeping the fan on at night to drown out the traffic and any hall noise.

  • Liked — Buffet Breakfast
  • Disliked — Parking garage
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cpafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2007

Stayed 2 nights and wasn't wowed and wasn't turned-off either. The lobby if very nice. There didn't appear to be a bell hop on staff even though there is a separate bell hop area.

The hallways looked dated and old. The room was fine, clean, and relatively quiet.

The breakfast buffet was good. The full service Starbucks was great. Lunch at the hotel was poor.

Overall an okay experience.

  • Liked — Starbucks in lobby
  • Disliked — Dated interior hallways and rooms
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JoelZR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2007

Although we live about 12 miles from downtown Knoxville, we decided to book a room here for the Boomsday celebration.

We asked for smoking, but were given non-smoking. I called the desk and were immediately moved to another room. This worked out beautifully, since it faced the fireworks. The crowds proved to be too much, and we had a fantastic room for viewing them.

Beds were wonderful. Room was very clean. Front desk was very helpful. Room service was incredibly reasonable and delicious. Had snacks in pub the night before and it was good. Breakfast buffet was excellent. We used the valet parking and it was good.

A few days later, I noticed that I was double charged for the room through my bank. I called the hotel and was put through to the auditor. He was incredibly helpful.

Actually, it wasn't the hotel's fault, at all. Our bank double charged everybody, that day, and immediately rectified the problem. Just a system error.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this fine hotel.

  • Liked — Room, staff, food
  • Disliked — Reservations were wrong, but immediately rectified
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank knapster2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2007

I recently stayed at this hotel for a college football game. It's in a good location - easily walkable to Neyland stadium in less than 15 minutes. The spacious hotel room and bathroom were in great shape - looked like they may have been recently renovated - and the two beds in the room were very comfortable and had the newer upgraded bedding and 4 fluffy pillows on each bed!

Customer service was top-notch. Check-in was quick and easy, and both
girls at the counter were very friendly. They were also very helpful when we went down later to ask for directions to a near-by restaurant.

Finally, the hotel breakfsat buffet was good and reasonably priced at $9.99 each, plus my 10 year old son ate free!

I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel the next time I am in Knoxville, and would definitely recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BluEyezNSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2007

We were in town for a wedding and stayed at the Hilton. The hotel was within walking distance to just about everything. I could see UT's football stadium from my window, the 82' Olympic Park was a short walk away along with many bars/restaurants. We had a king size bed and a couch that pulled out. Didn't use the couch but nice that it was available if needed. The bed and pillows were great, supper soft I slept like a baby. Overall a very good stay at this hotel. Would definately recommend to my friends and others.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed October 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank m25cls1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaroslaw, Poland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2007

Excellent location. Pretty lobby. Garage is not exactly connected and not owned by the hotel. Often full. The non-smoking room smelled from smoke (they never clean the air conditioning filters). The paint was wearing off the toilet seat. The complimentary breakfast was poor, the "short order cook" was indifferent if not down right nasty, while the waiter was wonderful.The manager was very nice. I was sorry that I had to discuss the hotel problems with her. You can do better.

  • Stayed April 2007
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Tommmmmmmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
#23 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn World's Fair Park-Knoxville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Oliver Hotel
The Oliver Hotel
#7 of 87 in Knoxville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Knoxville Cumberland House
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Knoxville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Knoxville

Property: Hilton Knoxville
Address: 501 W Church Ave, Knoxville, TN 37902-2506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Knoxville
#18 Business Hotel in Knoxville
#19 Romantic Hotel in Knoxville
#28 Family Hotel in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Knoxville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Knoxville hotel is located in the heart of downtown Knoxville, within walking distance of University of Tennessee and convention center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Kognitiv US Corp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Knoxville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Knoxville Hotel Knoxville
Hilton Hotel Knoxville
Knoxville Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing