We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food and so much soccer”

Soccer Taco Sports Bar & Tc's
Ranked #236 of 1,193 Restaurants in Knoxville
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Silicon Valley, CA
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“great food and so much soccer”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Being from California, we found the food here very much to our liking. Kind of a light Mexican style prepared with little fat or salt, so it felt very healthy. We tried to go back a second night, but it was too crowded! My only complaint is that they didn't show MLS games.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank mjtraveler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    28
    12
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA-Southeast
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Our "new" favorite place”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Before lamenting about the inauthenticity of the food at Soccer Taco, please try the specialty "Huaraches" with one of the multitude of toppings available--then make your decision. My husband and I had the pleasure of going to Oaxaca a year and a half ago and the huaraches taste like they just came off a comal at a taqueria in Oaxaca. It's a handmade corn tortilla, topped with a mild cheese sauce then they put whatever topping you choose on that (my husband likes the chorizo--delicious and better than any chorizo I've ever had before, the chipotle steak is also good, I usually get the pork carnitas). The pork carnitas melts in your mouth. They then top that with fresh avocado and bring out diced onions and limes and a habanero sauce to accompany the dish. The margaritas are delicious and fresh--the top shelf are outstanding. We used to be die hard Chez Guevarra fans (knowing that it's not authentic but a great atmosphere and good food), but this is our new favorite place to eat. And you can't beat the prices--$6.50 for a platter of delicious food. Since going there for the first time a month ago, we've been back 3 times. We hesitated to go there at first because of the name--it's so silly, how could they have good food? Trust me--they really do. And the service has been excellent every time. It's a great place for families--it's kind of loud because of the cramped quarters, but we love it anyway and plan to go back...frequently. Also, for those who complain that it's not authentic at all or "Ameri-Mexican", I've never seen beef tongue/tripe, cow's cheek or pork stomach on a menu at Casa Don Gallo--have you? If you want authentic, order the "real" Mexican dishes on the menu, not a quesadilla/chimichanga. I think having those items on the menu alone is pretty awesome for a small 'ville like Knoxville.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank krankenschwester600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An insult to the eye and to the taste buds”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

A pathetic vegetarian selection. The chimichanga was floating in a sea of plastic-looking cheese-like goo, it was positively gross. Sour cream and guacamole splattered on the side, on top of each other, vomit-like. There was no attempt to please the eye, much less the palate. An insult, really. You look at this food and think: the guy in the kitchen hates his job. And it shows.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank runlolarun_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to be”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

The food was amazing. A great place to hang with the guys. The service was excellent also.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Not Great”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

The food was amerimexican. not true mexican. If you like to munch while in a noisy bar, then this place is for you, If you like Mexican food, pass on this place. So many raved about it and the food was so so and the service was non existent

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Erik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soccer Taco Sports Bar & Tc's also viewed

 

Been to Soccer Taco Sports Bar & Tc's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing