We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience!”

Rosarito's Mexican Cantina
Ranked #136 of 1,258 Restaurants in Knoxville
Price range: $5 - $14
Description: Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Restaurant details
Description: Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Reviewed March 23, 2016 via mobile

Very authentic Tex-Mex fare but with deep, pure Mexican roots. Our server, Johana was a gem. Very pleasant and attentive. We ordered the combination fajitas for two and were pleasantly surprised at the speed of the order and everything was to perfection! Served with Mexican butter for dipping and the guacamole was out of this world! We really enjoyed ourselves and have recommended them to many of our friends.

2  Thank PerWayme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul P, Manager at Rosarito's Mexican Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2016

Thank you for your review. We love that you like our restaurant that much and we will continue to work very hard to give you the best quality of food and the service you deserve. We would love for you to recommend us with friends and family. We would like to take this opportunity to inform you that we will be updating our menu shortly introducing more authentic recipes. Thank you
Raul Mares
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 83 of 109 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2016

We have eaten at Rosaritas multiple times now and it is awesome! The beef fajitas are delicious and the service is very good. They always handle big or small parties with professionalism and detailed attention. The best in Knoxville!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul P, Manager at Rosarito's Mexican Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2016

Thank you for your review. We love that you like our restaurant that much and we will continue to work very hard to give you the best quality of food and the service you deserve. We would love for you to recommend us with friends and family. We would like to take this opportunity to inform you that we will be updating our menu shortly introducing more authentic recipes. Thank you
Raul Mares
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2016

We love and thrive on Mexican....even when it's not great....we'll try any NEW Mexican...We've now tried two times...and the second was worse than the first. We went when they first opened and we're not impressed. We thought we'd give it a second chance thinking maybe they'd worked out their issues. NO...FOOD WAS TERRIBLE....NOT JUST BAD...BUT TERRIBLE.....SERVICE BOTH TIMES WAS HORRIBLE.....We tell everyone we know to just pass this place up even though it is in a prime location......go a few miles any other direction, you'll find better.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank soundtrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2016 via mobile

What a treat. Great food and fantastic service. Nice atmosphere, Very clean restaurant. This is how all restaurants should operate.

1  Thank Bignugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul P, Manager at Rosarito's Mexican Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2016

Thank you for your review. We love that you like our restaurant that much and we will continue to work very hard to give you the best quality of food and the service you deserve. We would love for you to recommend us with friends and family. We would like to take this opportunity to inform you that we will be updating our menu shortly introducing more authentic recipes. Thank you
Raul Mares
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2016

There are so many Mexican restaurants in Knoxville, and I pretty well had chosen my favorites, but I had been reading about this fairly new restaurant and decided to try it with my husband and another couple. I loved it. For one thing, I loved the atmosphere, complete with traditional Mexican music and Spanish speaking waiters and waitresses. (I had read that it was owned by a Latino family). Our waitress, Margarita, was so sweet and friendly. The menu has tamales with many of the entrees, which is one of my favorites. They had a medium tamale plate which wasn't loaded with too much food and was just the right amount, and the tamales were excellent, although not as spicy as some might want. One of my friends had the shrimp fajitas with corn tortillas, which she raved over. The shrimp looked plump and cooked properly from my vantage. My husband and my other friend had the soft beef tacos, with all the trimmings, including garlic butter, which was new to me. They had lots of praise for the dish. We shared a tres leche cake, and everyone's eyes rolled back in their heads--it was so good. We arrived before 8 on a Saturday night and were able to enjoy their house margaritas for $2.99 (reg 5.99). Their typical tortilla chips and dip were good and unusual, in that each tray of sauce contained some carrot and celery sticks, and one of the dips was a cream sauce3 of some kind. Prices were very reasonable. I hope this restaurant lasts and that people start coming. It was fairly empty on a Saturday night. I loved it! I will go back soon!

1  Thank buildingmemories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul P, Manager at Rosarito's Mexican Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2016

Thank you for your review. We love that you like our restaurant that much and we will continue to work very hard to give you the best quality of food and the service you deserve. We would love for you to recommend us with friends and family. We would like to take this opportunity to inform you that we will be updating our menu shortly introducing more authentic recipes. Thank you
Raul Mares
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosarito's Mexican Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Rosarito's Mexican Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing