We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treat a Friend to an Excellent Surprise Fresh Baked Breads Savory Meats”

Frussies Deli & Sandwich Shop
Ranked #232 of 1,187 Restaurants in Knoxville
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Knoxville Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Treat a Friend to an Excellent Surprise Fresh Baked Breads Savory Meats”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I love the pastrami on rye. Frussie's prepares a sandwich you won't find anywhere else in Knoxville. Can't be any fresher, steamed to bring out the flavors, yum! A quiet place for conversations. My wif elikes the Kaiser roll and roast beef. Stop here to invigorate your day as you relax and avoid any of the fast food traps - greasy tables, screaming kids, masses of people.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Silentflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    4
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best Sandwich I've Ever Had!”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Frussies Deli is a true Knoxville Gem! The location is a little out of the way, but it is well worth finding and stopping by! You will not be disappointed! All of the breads are made fresh daily, and they are out of this world! The Italian Sub is my favorite, and features Turkey, Ham, and Salami with house made Italian dressing, and melted provolone cheese. You just can't get food like this from any chain restaurant. The deli is a one man operation, so service can be a little slow if it's crowded, but considering everything is made to order, waiting a little longer than you would at a fast food restaurant is sooo worth it! If you're looking for a unique sandwich experience, this deli is a MUST VISIT! The quality of food at Frussies is unsurpassed, and the restaurant is always clean; the health score posted at the register boasts a 96! The prices are a little higher than chain sandwich shops, but you get what you pay for, and I would pay twice as much for the bread alone! Frussies is open 11-3 Monday-Saturday. Don't miss one of the best kept secrets in Knoxville!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank foodlovinmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Sandwich Heaven!”
Reviewed May 12, 2012

I LOVE the sandwiches here!. One of my favorites in Knoxville! I absolutely love the Italian Sandwich, it is one I can't seem to get past. Owner Jay Brandon makes everything from scratch. Taste the difference and take a chance to try this place out. They close at 2:00 pm and are closed on Sundays. It used to be a cash only place, they now accept credit cards with a 50 cent charge. Sandwiches are around $10 and totally worth it!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IKnowFoodMaryT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“For sandwich lovers!”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

If you are looking for just a sandwich, this is your place. The bread is baked fresh by the owner who is also the only sandwich maker so each order gets special attention. The prices are a bit high, but to me, well worth it. And the service can be a little slow if the restaurant is crowded. So if you are looking for "fast food" and inexpensive this is not the place for you. But if you are looking for quality, I believe you will be more than willing to pay the slightly higher prices.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jennieji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Only been there once and that was enough.”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Bad Location, service not very good and the prices were too high.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank SueBowyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frussies Deli & Sandwich Shop also viewed

 

Been to Frussies Deli & Sandwich Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing