We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Late night dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Steak 'n Shake

Steak 'n Shake
Ranked #474 of 1,165 Restaurants in Knoxville
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Steak ‘n Shake is a classic American brand famous for the Original Steakburger™ and hand-dipped Milk Shakes. Stop in today for breakfast, lunch, dinner or late night. Dine in, drive thru or carryout.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Late night dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stopped here late night after a marching band competition. We miss eating at Steak and Shakes,as there are none in our current hometown. Took forever to get seated, but food was worth it. Great burgers, fries and shakes.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank cpersh1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    30
    11
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
knoxville
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“sweet dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

good food, takes you back in time. husband loved the malt

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank charlotteann0961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“really inconsistent. what a shame.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

as with all other fast food joints, i gotta fight with these people about my fries. i always say to my waitress or waiter, "tell em to drop me some fries, i don't mind waiting" but on some visits, i gotta complain and ask for a re-do. they've even played the old "let's give her re-fries" trick, but i'm not so naive cuz i worked in fast food joints when i was in college, so i'd have to call 'em on that too. so inconvenient when i'm in a hurry. some of the servers are very nice. the place is usually clean, but i have one concern. they take the chairs late at night and set them on top of the tables with the feet of the chairs touching the table tops so they can mop. this means that the germs that are on the floor get transferred to the tabletops. yuck. the shakes are good. the burgers sometimes make me sick though. don't know if the meat is slightly tainted, or what. i only go there when i've got lots of time and patience to deal with the crap that comes along with going there sometimes.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Missi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

These burgers are delicious! They taste homemade, lots of flavor, ur choice of toppings & an exceptional value. The fries ARE NOT hard as stated in 1 review. The waitresses have come 2 recognize us & r prompt, professional, friendly, & do a great job. The restaurant is funky & retro. Always clean. Even the restroom has been clean. I say try it for yourself & you be the judge.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scandalous1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really sweet workers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Went out of their way to serve and were really good with the kids
The help behind the counter was great also, all around friendly steak and shake. Or was it just the STATE? :)

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank NoOrdinaryLuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steak 'n Shake also viewed

 

Been to Steak 'n Shake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing