We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Famous Amy”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Famous Dave's

Famous Dave's
Ranked #59 of 1,166 Restaurants in Knoxville
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Famous Amy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stopped here while traveling through for a quick lunch. It was pretty convenient to find off the interstate. We shared an appetizer sampler. This had the biggest variety of food I have seen on a sampler before. Food was very good. The sauces were explained by our server, who was named Amy, and she had been working with Famous Dave's for over 10 years. The sauces were very good. I enjoyed the food and thought the outdoors themed atmosphere was neat. Definitely a good place to stop in for a bite.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chestersmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    76
    30
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, MI
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not so famous, just average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

There was not anything special about Famous Dave's. We ordered the ribs and the beef brisket. Also ordered the sides the waitress recommended "Famous Amber". She suggested the mac and cheese (has jalapeno's in it, is this really necessary?) and the greens with some kind of sausage in them (not a hit). The corn on the cob was just so so. For an awesome BBQ experience I would recommend skipping Famous Dave's and going to Archer's.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MSUSpartan94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damascus, Virginia
Level Contributor
199 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great BBQ!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here because it was so close to our hotel and what a great place it was. The pulled pork was excellent, all the sauces were great, the cornbread muffins were amazing, as were the other sides. The people were friendly and our waitress Kristin was great. Stop here if you love good food!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WVhikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
“I will never, ever return”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Terrible food served in an outdated, dirty restaurant. The ONLY positive was an energetic waitress with a great attitude.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monte_Runfola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Grrreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

It was a great experience. Not what you would call gourmet dining, just tasty wholesome food. We loved it! Our waitress was friendly and helpful. We had pulled pork and roast chicken,came with corn bread and two sides from a good selection. We were too full for desert! It was all really tasty and well cooked.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Imametrologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Famous Dave's also viewed

 

Been to Famous Dave's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing