We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great History Info”

East Tennessee History Center
Ranked #7 of 196 things to do in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great History Info”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Free on Sundays. Minor fee other times.
Well layed out, giving insight into Knoxville area history. They even have an old Knoxville trolley you can step into. A few exhibits change.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank TenneesseeJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    53
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Better than expected for free museum”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I've walked by this place for years but never gone in. I had some family in town recently and decided to check it out as it is free on Sundays and we were looking for something to do on a rainy Sunday afternoon. I'm glad we went. You can tell a lot of work and effort has gone into the exhibits. They are very well done and quite nice. We wandered around for about 45 minutes, but I would like to go back when I have more time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank gldeagle50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chapel hill, nc
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Received an education in less than 2 hours”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Great interactive displays. Focus on Civil War fascinating.
Excellent collection on the "hillbilly" music and learned about
The TVA and its history. Great location downtown

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank emangramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC Collection of Historic Records”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I have been here several times. There is an interesting museum on the first floor. To me the attraction is the amount of historical records housed on the second and third floors. If you are working on your genealogy with roots in East Tennessee, this is the first stop that you should make. They have two areas for research. On the second floor, there is the complete collection of known Knox County deeds, court papers, etc. On the third floor is the Calvin M. McClung Historical Collection. This collection has a massive collection of newspapers, historical documents, and genealogies from East Tennessee and other regional areas. To see the full list of the resources available at the ETHS, you need to look at their web site.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Vol1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Interesting Museum”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Learned a lot about the region's history. Interesting angle on the state's Confederate history. Save a few hours to do this.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East Tennessee History Center also viewed

 

Been to East Tennessee History Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing