We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown
Ranked #4 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels ever!”
Reviewed February 25, 2011

I've stayed here twice while visiting my son who attends UT. It's such an amazing property! Located in a very nice part of downtown, within walking distance to all the boutiques and restaurants in Market Square. The rooms are squeaky clean and very comfortable. They have plenty of free parking in the attached garage and roof deck ... a rare find in a city location. And the staff is just the best! So friendly and helpful. You can't go wrong with this gem.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purple_phantom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    211
    38
    6
    4
See reviews for
303
257
36
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sevierville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed January 12, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Hampton for our honeymoon and the hotel was wonderful! We stayed in the king studio suite with the whirlpool tub and it was wonderful. Everything was clean and well set up. Continental breakfast every morning was very good and had a good variety.

What impressed me most was, on the last night of our stay, New Years Eve, the TV didn't work; we wrote this on our comment card and expressed our disappointment. About a week or so after we checked out, my husband received a call from the hotel apologizing for the TV and telling us they were refunding the full cost of our last night as an apology.

What service!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L_Bugbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
559 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 600 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2011

The downtown Hampton Inn is only 4 years old, but was built to easily blend in with the local historic downtown district buildings. We were going to the opening night for the "Blue Man Group" and booked this hotel because it was within walking of many Market Square restaurants and the recently restored Tennessee Theater.
We parked in their well-lite two story parking garage. Parking was free! We were impressed with all the framed artistic B&W photos in the lobby and in the rooms, they were all photos of local Knoxville; a very nice personal touch of class.
Friendly greeting by front end staff and efficient check-in. Room was well laid out. Bed was a king & was very comfortable, with a large TV, mini refrigerator, microwave, workdesk & chair with free internet connection, chaise lounge and a reading/writing lap board. Bathroom had a tile tub surround with a shampoo, conditioner & body wash dispenser on the back wall. Pod coffee maker with all the normal coffee/tee supplies was on the bathroom counter. Our room was very quiet, we heard very little outside noise.
Otis Spunkmeyer cookies were available at the front desk in the evening, along with 24 hour coffee. Their free breakfast buffet was served from 6 AM until 10 AM. That particular morning they had a fresh fruit salad, egg rounds with cheese folded in the middle, sausage patties. And the usual cereals, pastries, yogurt, bagels, bananas, apples, juice, coffee, cocoa envelopes. There were two attendants who kept everything very clean & restocked. They also had two waffle machines, which one attendant would offer to make for you and he would bring it to your table. They had several types of low-calorie sugar substitutes, sugar-free surup and jam.
Whitney at the front desk was very helpful & answered all of our questions. They had an indoor pool, but we didn't have time to use it.
If we are ever in Knoxville again , we will definitely choose this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magic_carpets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
288 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2010

I booked this room on line after getting advice from the Knoxville forum of where to stay in the downtown area. What a great suggestion! We LOVED this hotel from the minute we stepped foot on the property to the minute we left with tears in our eyes! We were so warmly greeted by Nikki who presented us with a welcome package for our 30th wedding anniversary. It included candy, popcorn and a coupon for a free in room movie. They were so very sweet and kind. They also gave us an upgrade to a small suite which we loved! Every single person who we came into contact with at this hotel was about making our stay great. I even did laundry here which was a breeze. The rates were very fair as well. We had a gorgeous view of the beautifl church across the street and even could see the river from our room. I will say that there was some street noise but we slept like babies while we were there. We walked everywhere we went.

I will make it a point to go back to this hotel for another stay. All other hotels should go and visit this place to really know how it should be done. Outstanding stay!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pahhobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, TN
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2010

This hotel is one of the nicest i've stayed in on business. Location is perfect if you're in downtown Knoxville, or need to be near UT Campus. The staff goes out of their way to make sure you are happy, and the property itself is clean, modern and very well-equipped. I've stayed at every downtown Knoxville hotel and compared to the Hampton they are old, out of style, not in good locations, in need of updates and almost all were more expensive. Also, the Hampton has FREE PARKING onsite, in a parking garage right off the front lobby. Hassle-free!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LR123RND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2010

Never having been to this small, collegian town, as an overnight stay while making way towards the bourbon trail from NC, we were happily surprised that a hotel in a rather non-descript area of the city, was close to all (had a great time discovering the Old Town) and that the staff bent over backwards to provide top shelf service. From first entering the lobby to the breakfast the next morning, the staff were so helpful and caring. With giving pointers of where to go and what to see by the front desk members to the breakfast crew which was truly attentive to every detail, this stay gave us a very positive impression of Knoxville and Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vairolaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2010

Our family has stayed here on a number of occasions when we were in town for University of Tennessee functions. It is very close to the campus and walking distance to great restaurants. The staff has always been helpful with directions, recommendations, etc. and all the restaurants they've recommended have been excellent. The hotel itself has always been very clean and comfortable and the breakfast is a more than adequate start to your day. The staff in the breakfast area has always been very friendly and helpful, and keep the area clean and well stocked. In summary, a clean, comfortable hotel with great staff in a great location.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Betsyslp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn World's Fair Park-Knoxville
0.2 mi away
Hilton Knoxville
Hilton Knoxville
#22 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville Papermill Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
#21 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Knoxville North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown
Address: 618 W Main St, Knoxville, TN 37902-2601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Knoxville
#2 Romantic Hotel in Knoxville
#6 Business Hotel in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Knoxville's Downtown Business District, this small, yet charming hotel pampers guests with personal service and special amenities including complimentary wifi, complimentary guest laundry, a business center, indoor pool, fitness center and a convenient complimentary deluxe hot breakfast. Business travelers enjoy beautiful guests rooms with executive desks, flat screen TV's, refrigerators, microwaves and coffee makers. Hilton Honors Points and airline miles are awarded with each stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown Hotel Knoxville
Hampton Inn And Suites Knoxville - Downtown
Hampton Inn Knoxville
Hampton Inn Hotel Knoxville
Knoxville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing