We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown
Ranked #6 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Knoxville, TN - was our halfway stop on our way to South Carolina from Indiana. We stayed one night but it was so nice, I wouldn't have minded staying a few more nights. We arrived late Friday night - they looked very busy so I was glad we had reservations. Not only were the rooms very spacious, but were very clean with excellent amenities - flat screen tv, clock radio, microwave oven, coffee maker, hair dryer, and fridge . The rooms were also quiet so it made it easy to fall asleep. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ccabacungan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (908)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

812 - 818 of 908 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2012

Stayed one night on business in June. The hotel lived up to the TA reviews; it's a very clean, new hotel that is well-located to downtown and UT.

The wifi was fast, the bed was comfortable and the breakfast was fine for a typical Hampton breakfast (although I overheard the staff discussing that they were out of their regular bold coffee and what they had was indeed not so good).

Highly recommend walking to Calhoun's on the River for some of the best ribs in the US (although the walk up/back is very steep, which I was warned about, but it was fine for me) and over to Downtown Brewery for their beer.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChiLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We usually stay in Homewood Suites but have had inconsistent stays this year as we tour colleges with our son. When I was researching a hotel for UT Knoxville I decided to try this Hampton Inn & Suites based on reviews here. We reserved a double Queen suite, and noted our usual requests of "high floor in quiet part of hotel please". Although the suites here are really just studio apartments (where everything is in one room) instead of separate bedroom/kitchen and living room, it was fine for a night since it was just myself and my son. If this were more than one night or if my wife came along it would not be as desirable. The staff was very professional and friendly. The usual cookies were on the counter, but none were offered or ready in a packet for hand-out. No big deal, since we decided we didn't want any. Upon check-in we were placed in a suite on the 4th (out of 6) floor and the manager who checked us in noted that it was on the opposite end of the elevator. When we checked out the room it was indeed away from the elevator but right next to the stairs, and on the corner facing the intersection of streets. I was a little concerned about this but it turned out to be fine as we were not disturbed much and had a good night's sleep. *Note to management* - when a room in quiet part of hotel is requested, it looks like the quietest part for this hotel would be the corner overlooking the parking garage, away from the streets. As far as comments about "lumpy comforters", generally one sleeps under the comforter and not on top of it, so that shouldn't be a concern. The room and hotel in general were clean, comfortable and inviting. Breakfast was the usual Hilton fare of eggs, bacon or sausage (not both), fruit, waffles, cereals, bagels, and assortment of beverages. In short, very plentiful and good. I would stay here again if separate bedroom and couch were not an issue. I knocked off a star for the small shortcomings noted and for having to return to the front desk because the room keys were not working (turned out they were programmed for room 406 instead of 403). The manager quickly corrected this and apologized, but this just indicates a need for better QC for the Hilton Honors check-in procedures.

Room Tip: For a quiet room ask for one that overlooks garage. Suites are roomy but all are studio style.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 57j2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed one night at the property, and had a great experience. On-duty manager, Ashley, coundn't have been more helpful. We wanted to get to Gay and Market, and she provide safe walking instructions. When she found out we were considering moving to the greater Knoxville area, she gave us great information on the local area, and re-lo material. The hotel is in a great location to explore downtown/Worlds Fair Park. Great hotel - we will stay there again.

Room Tip: Parking was free, and we experienced no issues with safety
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDuhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

This is a new Hampton Inn property. Great location, free Parking, Clean and Eco friendly, very convenient to everything.
My two gripes would be:
1. It's a Vegeterian Hot Breakfast. I have stayed at many many Hilton properties and have never seen that. All they had that was considered a Hot breakfast was sry scrambled eggs and dry potatoes. No meat at all...
Also the staff was helping themselves to coffee and gossiping instead of greeting guests.
2. I'm a Hilton Gold member and did not receive water or anything that goes with being a member.

That said there are many benefits to this property and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nova2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelingal87, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Hello!!
I wanted to take just a moment today to reach out and say thanks for taking the time to provide a review of your experience at our hotel. The specific feedback you provided will help us improve our product and development of our team. Should your travels bring you back our direction please feel free to reach out to me at the hotel and we'll make sure that we have a better protein offering for breakfast and that we recognize your Hilton honor membership.
Thanks again for letting us know about your experience and we sure hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future and give you a perfect stay!!
Best regards!!
Anita Lane, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012 via mobile

In for a graduation weekend with 2 rooms and boy were we all impressed. The front desk was outstanding in every way. They were courteous, professional and just pleasant. I was nervous at first, not having stayed there before but was glad we did.

Rooms were immaculate. Breakfast was good. Kids liked the cookies at the front desk. And like all Hampton Inns, the beds were clean and comfortable.

We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank khabatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Stayed the first weekend in May. The location is within walking distance of good restaurants and the university. Hotel is new and the staff is great. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Great downtown location and helpful friendly staff.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BernieG731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Knoxville
Hilton Knoxville
#22 of 87 in Knoxville
1,237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn World's Fair Park-Knoxville
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
#21 of 87 in Knoxville
557 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Knoxville North
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Knoxville Cumberland House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown

Address: 618 W Main St, Knoxville, TN 37902-2601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Knoxville
#2 Romantic Hotel in Knoxville
#6 Business Hotel in Knoxville
Price Range: $135 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Knoxville's Downtown Business District, this small, yet charming hotel pampers guests with personal service and special amenities including complimentary wifi, complimentary guest laundry, a business center, indoor pool, fitness center and a convenient complimentary deluxe hot breakfast. Business travelers enjoy beautiful guests rooms with executive desks, flat screen TV's, refrigerators, microwaves and coffee makers. Hilton Honors Points and airline miles are awarded with each stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville - Downtown Hotel Knoxville
Hampton Inn And Suites Knoxville - Downtown
Hampton Inn Knoxville
Hampton Inn Hotel Knoxville
Knoxville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing