We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very very nice place and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Downtown Grill & Brewery

Downtown Grill & Brewery
Ranked #20 of 1,159 Restaurants in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Grill, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
174 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very very nice place and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We ate and drank with a large crown here on Labor Day. The place was full, drinks were cheap and good. Good was delicious. The server was very friendly and attentive. I highly recommend for a weekend evening out with friends.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anurag A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    244
    97
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
jackson
Level Contributor
72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good Food, Noise adds to the atmosphere!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

It's a bar so I expected folks to be talking - we joked that it wouldn't be the place to go on a first date. I had the prime rib and it was big! I got refried beans and mashed red potatoes for the side. Very good for a change. Husband and daughter had steaks and they were good also. Liked that it was old and had character. Would definitely go back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jenbtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“One of my favorite local eats”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

I'll start by saying that I would rate this restaurant as "excellent" if not for the crowd and noise sometimes. It's not horrible, but on weekend nights in particular, it can be challenging to carry on a conversation. I think older people find this more distracting (no offense, but it is true--I've only seen people past middle age in there for brunch), but if you are used to being in the downtown environment it is not bad. There is a huge bar in the middle of the main floor, and then the whole place is open through to the second floor, so the noise kind of goes all over the place. Seating on the second floor circles around the open atrium area, so there is really no escaping it. There is some outdoor seating, but it is limited and usually FULL of smokers, so beware! Other than these concerns, the food is great, drink specials are good, atmosphere is fun and lively, and servers have typically been good as well in my experience. If you are a beer person, definitely try the brews that they make (Woodruff Brewing Co.). They are $2 during happy hour and $3 other times. There is a private room you can reserve that is closed off for parties, and a lounge area with pool and sofas at the upstairs bar if you just want to hang out with friends. This is a big place, so there is rarely more than a 20 minute wait, but call ahead or make reservations for sure if you have a large party. Try the Sunday brunch with mimosas on special, too. The location, atmosphere and food selection make this a great place to stop if you live in or drive through Knoxville! Parking is also really convenient in the small garage behind the restaurant which is free after 6pm and all weekend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank myWindingRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere and Good Eats”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We chose this restaurant on a recommendation from our concierge at the hotel. We were not disappointed. The atmosphere is relaxing, yet vibrant. It sounds conflictive, but we were quite relaxed in a busy restaurant. The food was great and the service was "southern friendly"! Good choice!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank tymetocruz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jersey
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Knoxville was a stop over heading back to Jersey. Decided to drive around the college area looking for a sports bar and stumbled into the Downtown. Our luck, good food, very good service and good beer (White Mule). Didn't notice the noise like other reviewers. Had a great time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wags032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Downtown Grill & Brewery also viewed

Knoxville, TN
Knoxville, TN
 

Been to Downtown Grill & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing