We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpleasant experience”

Downtown Grill & Brewery
Ranked #20 of 1,174 Restaurants in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Grill, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Unpleasant experience”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Others have commented but I will repeat. When we say loud we mean really can't hear anyone talk, heart pounding LOUD! To try to escape the racket we opted to sit in an open outside area at the back of the restaurant (you have to go past the restrooms and through a couple of unmarked doors to find it). Unfortunately for us that is also a smoking area. Adjacent to our table two gentlemen were enjoying their beer and lots of cigarettes. More unfortunately, there was a rotating fan that in cycles blew the smoke and air right to our table. Second hand smoke and cooling food is not a recipe for enjoyment. We tried to get the fan turned off, which turned out to be difficult and took perhaps 20 minutes. Finally we gave up, packaged our food and took it back to the hotel which came with microwave. I think the food might have actually been pretty good fresh, which is why we gave an average rating. But we would not go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    254
    99
    22
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
111 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Yes it's good, yes it's loud”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Agree fully with other reviewers who loved the food and marveled at the noise level. It's not that loud for a large bar, but definitely very loud if you judge by restaurant standards. Have eaten there several times, and everyone in my party has always liked the food, although some don't find it a pleasant setting for breakfast (depends how much you like eating breakfast in a bar--doesn't bother me).

If you go in the evening and want to talk, it's best to try to get a table outside. These can be hard to get, but my more experienced companions told me that the tables in back are open to whomever can grab them, so you might want to try entering from the parking ramp in back. The view isn't fantastic, unless you're a great fan of parking lots, but it's shaded and very cool when they have the large fans going.

Service wasn't too bad, especially considering that our poor server was covering all the back patio tables. Food came in an acceptable time, considering how big and full the place was. Server was very good.

Reasonable prices. Dinners tend to run in the $10-15 range. Beer selection is adequate. Not large by today's standards, but they usually have some decent choices.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food but loud”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I prefer quiet restaurants but we went to the Downtown Grill by recommendation. The food was very good even though it was loud. I would say this restaurant is for a younger age ( we are approaching 60ish)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank GGG1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-les-Bains, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Service...VERY Loud”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This restaurant is loud, hot, and can be somewhat cramped. The menu is broad and the food seems to be very good, more home-made style. I'd definitely go back for sure, but maybe on a cooler evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank confidentbranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun little place to visit”
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

There was no wait. The staff was friendly. The menu is HUGE so if you want options, this place will give it to you. They had tons of local beers and entertainment galore. The food wa good... I had the supreme pizza pasta and my hubby had the steak stuffed with shrimp,bacon, and spinich... Along with a few IPA's.... Great choice if you are in town an want a low key, reasonably priced meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Downtown Grill & Brewery also viewed

Knoxville, TN
Knoxville, TN
 

Been to Downtown Grill & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing