We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cinders” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Downtown Grill & Brewery

Downtown Grill & Brewery
Ranked #21 of 1,160 Restaurants in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Grill, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
134 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Cinders”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Only restaurant ever where I was served a meal I could not eat. Ordered a steak, medium or medium well, and it came burned. I don't mean well done, I mean burned! The outside was literally a cinder and when I cut it off to get to the unburned inner portion I couldn't eat that either. The burned taste had permeated the meat. It was nauseating. And the server couldn't have cared less. I should have sent it back and called attention to the inedibility of the food, but we had tickets to an opening at the Tennessee Theater and did not have time to do anything but eat and run. I have never gone back and never will. A couple of times friends have suggested eating there and I always say "no thanks". Any place that can bring something like that to the table is not a place I'm entering!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AniKinTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    244
    97
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

A very good, moderately priced menu with good food. They have their own microbrewery with decent beers. A bit noisy near the bar, and upstairs near the other bar, but is a fun place to go.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Boneplate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Beer”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stopped by the Downtown Grill & Brewery before a UT basketball game. The atmosphere downstairs appeared fun, but the upstairs bar area was a disappointment. We had just a little time to kill and decided to stick it out to try a new place. The beer was very good and our bartender was very helpful. The appetizers we tried were just average however. I did see some others being served with dinner and the food looked great, so I would be willing to give it another try.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank SeagroveBeachBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belpre, Ohio
Level Contributor
95 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great food, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Had dinner with my wife in July. This is THE place to eat in downtown Knoxville. Lots to see, great brew and wonderful meals. The place was packed, but it didn't take too long to get seated. As busy as it was our dinner was ready rather quickly. I really enjoy seeing the beer making equipment in the middle of the restaurant. Our waitress was great and had our drink refills even before we could ask. Excellent service and good prices.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank vacatraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
232 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Thouroghly enjoyed but felt old surrounded by young couples”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

Place was recommended by driver of courtesy van. The main floor was mostly tall tables while the balcony surrounding it had most of the dinner tables. That's where we sat. Very quaint place. Wall was lined with old photos of the "woodruff" a furniture store that the bldg use to be. Waiter was very helpfull. We had the fish and chips which was plentiful and good. The dessert, recommended by our waiter was fabulous - Empenadas. I highly recommend you save room for desert.

The beer, I had a stout, was so so. It probably is not fair to compare it to a Guieness.

All and all we enjoyed it and recommend it.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thed3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Downtown Grill & Brewery also viewed

Knoxville, TN
Knoxville, TN
 

Been to Downtown Grill & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing