We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friday night sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shonos in City - CLOSED

Shonos in City
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
263 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Friday night sushi”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

It was a busy Friday night at Market Square, but no wait. Seating outside, inside both front and rear of restaurant. We chose the sushi bar to dine. I am a rookie at sushi, my friend is an expert. Sushi chefs could have been a bit more interactive since we were sitting so close. After a bit they did start talking and even got me to try cooked eel....delicious! Those chefs didn't stop working all night. Sad to hear that they do not get tipped out by servers for the gorgeous creations they make. Only tips come from people walking by or sushi guests. Prices were great for the amount of food you receive. Reading to drive 4-hours to eat here again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sjccheer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    9
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
“We love it at Shonos”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We go to Shonos all the time and just let the chefs create works of art for us to eat and they always have something new that they are doing.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Delicious Food. Perfect for Groups.”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Shonos in City is the perfect place for groups of friends and family to come together for good food and good times. The sushi is delicious, as is the hibachi! They have so many different kinds of sushi that it's almost impossible to choose.The seaweed salads are amazing. The customer service is good and it doesn't take long to get your meal. Shonos is very accommodating to groups, which we often bring. We love every visit to Shonos and will continue to make memories there!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leighton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service and overall value”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My wife and I had an early supper at Shonos a week ago and found the food to be very good, as well as the service from James. My salmon was delicious and not overcooked. The appetizers were very good - seaweed salad, shrimp, and dumplings. The value is excellent. They do not overcharge like some other restaurants on Market Square. Thurs. after six is half priced sushi. We did not try the sushi on this trip but will do so in the future.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great sushi, even better value!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Service was friendly, sushi was really good - and cheap! We had four sushi rolls, soup, gyoza and a glass of wine for around $40. We had tried to go to Nama but there was an hour wait and they seated us right away. Would definitely go back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank KATHLEEN O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shonos in City also viewed

 
Knoxville, TN
Knoxville, TN
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing