We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVE Sonny's!”
Review of Sonny’s BBQ - CLOSED

Sonny’s BBQ
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“LOVE Sonny's!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Since being introduced to Sonny's in Florida several years ago, we have been fans and love to eat there whenever we come across one. This restaurant is about 75 miles from our home, but we might actually be tempted to drive there just for the meal! It's not often we drive through Knoxville that we don't stop by for a plate of delicious ribs and fixin's. We usually share the rack of ribs plate and there's more than enough for the both of us. The BBQ is always yummy! Prices aren't bad and we always receive good, and friendly, service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Vicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny’s BBQ, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Vicki S, thank you for the great review! We're glad to hear that you enjoy your experience at our Florida locations when you visit. We hope to see you soon at our Knoxville location!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    15
    11
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Sonny's is the best BBQ period! Get the "all you can eat" ribs and see!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Went to the Tennessee Valley Fair not knowing there was a Sonny's in Knoxville! What a great surprise!! Got the all you can eat ribs like I always do....they are awesome!!!! If you want real awesome bar b q go to Sonny's. And to Sonny's may I take another opportunity to ask you to put one in Weaverville, NC where I live! (Asheville) PLEASE!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank yourtravelbargain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymore, Missouri
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Reunion 2013”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Pam was great as a server, gave a good review on the menu as this was our first time there. Got more than our money's worth for good BBQ.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Like BBQ?”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Great choices, great food, great prices! Took family. Father's Day meal at 3:00. Have been before, will definitely go again!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jk L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
84 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“This yankee really liked it”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My East Tennessee wife and I dined here tonight at the suggestion of a waiter at at a nearby Outback Steakhouse the previous night, and we were both very pleased. She knows barbecue and is pretty opinionated about what is good and what isn't, and I am pretty much a rookie, but I know what I like.

We started out with the deep fried okra appetizer. When I cook okra I usually pan fry it, so this was different but good. It was nicely done and appropriately flavored. I try to get a mild cajun touch on it when I cook it, and they did better than I do.

My wife had a pulled pork sandwich, and while she said it did not measure up to the pulled pork sandwiches she grew up with in Chattanooga, it was still excellent. I had a super combo (chicken, rubbed ribs, sliced pork, pulled pork) and found all to be very well prepared. Nothing was gooey, and nothing was too dry (that is a frequent complaint in barbecue restaurants I have found). The sauce provided at the table (the stronger one) was perfect on all of these. The french fries were just fine, and the baked beans were wonderful, not overly sweet as they often are.

Wife had peach cobbler a la mode for dessert (pronounced it excellent) but I was stuffed by then (also consumed a large beer). The service was attentive and unobtrusive. While they had Fox News on the TV, at least it was muted and Leanne Rimes was playing on the sound system.

A very good dinner, IMHO, and my wife is a testimony to the fact that this is barbecue that even someone raised on the stuff can get excited about.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BetweentheLakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny’s BBQ also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing