We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food C+, Cleanliness D-”

Chandler's Deli LLC
Ranked #154 of 1,179 Restaurants in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
316 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 756 helpful votes
“Food C+, Cleanliness D-”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

There are some restaurants that get good reviews because they have great food. Other restaurants may get good reviews for huge portions and then others just for popularity. This place - it must be the large portions/low prices and the popularity cause it sure AIN'T for the quality and definitely NOT for the cleanliness!!!

My father and I split a barbeque sandwich and fries and added on an ear of corn. The barbeque amount was huge on a dry old cheap store-bought bun. Barbeque was OK except for the nasty gristles we got. The corn - I'm not sure if ANYONE could boil corn to such a rubbery state as this place does. Honestly - they should have paid ME to eat it. French fries from a bag - come on! Even my little nephew could have done better than that.

Yikes Yikes Yikes. What a trap. To beat all, the soles of my shoes stuck to the floor as I walked to the table - which I also had to clean myself. Seems that EVERY surface in this place is covered in some sort of sticky grime. You know, there DOES come a point where you just need to overhaul a place and clean it with bleach and abrasive cleaners. That's what needs to happen here.

What was I thinking even stopping here??? We passed the Pizza Palace to get here, and I even contemplated stopping THERE instead of here. Definitely hindsight is 20/20 because I most definitely should NOT have stopped here.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tmynatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    20
    6
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
250 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very Good Soul Food”
Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

I've been to Chandler's several times and they do have great soul food. I don't like everything I've had, but you can't go wrong with the rotisserie chicken, Mac n cheese, and pinto beans.

Helpful?
1 Thank JACoppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Wonderful food and gracious service greeted me at Chandler's Deli on Magnolia Avenue, Knoxville. The pork ribs were offered with mild, medium, or hot sauce: I chose the medium. The fried okra was crunchy and delicious. I tried the collard greens: oh, my, what a delight on the palate, with a savory chunk of pork in the serving. The pork ribs were sauce-slathered and bone-sucking good. It seemed like there was a quarter-pound of meat on each rib! To finish the meal, a wonderful serving of cobbler with sweet peaches and a flaky crust.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SnappyTrails441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“got some stretch pants handy ?”
Reviewed April 26, 2012

i hope ya do, cause you will need them for about a week after ya get done noshin' on these high calorie menu items. this is a great place to go after a hard days work, cause it's purty good comfort food, and you'll be in good company, cause ya won't be the only person around sneakin' to undo that top button on your pants. with all that said, bon appetit !

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Missi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not as special as I expected”
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Heard a ton of great things about this place, but have gone twice and was less than excited either time. They do a great TV commercial, but going there is not as special.

Helpful?
1 Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chandler's Deli LLC also viewed

 

Been to Chandler's Deli LLC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing