We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to get a snack or lunch!”
Review of Original Freezo

Original Freezo
Ranked #599 of 1,174 Restaurants in Knoxville
Cuisines: Fast Food
Restaurant details
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to get a snack or lunch!”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I was there last week and had some onion rings, the week before a soft serve ice cream, a couple of weeks earlier, a burger. I can't remember ever being dissatisfied with anything I ordered. Clean, hot, affordable food and the girls working there are friendly.Get your order and go out back to the picnic tables in the shade. It's been around along time, there used to be one in Halls...anyone else remember it?

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank troutbum777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sevierville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Love this neighborhood gem!”
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

I work just down the street and visit this spot so often I am on a first name basis with most of the staff. Just a good ole ice cream joint! Their plate lunches are excellent as well...chicken and dumplings and pinto beans and cornbread yummy!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephany H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
268 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Yummy Yummy”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Great Hot Fudge Sundaes and Dip Cones. It is a drive in restaurant with a walk up window to order. You can take the food to your car or to the picnic table around back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank micarooni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Historic North Knoxville landmark”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I believe the Freezo has been around since the 40's, maybe earlier. Still the same ice cream, milk shakes,sundies I had when I was a child. Just a GREAT place to visit and eat. No seating except two picnic tables in back. Order at the window. YUMMMMMMY !

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank nancyknoxville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A great place to visit.”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Freezo is a hidden gem on Central Street in Knoxville. You can either use the drive thru or park and walk up to the window to order. The food ranges from hot dogs and ice cream cones to chicken and dumplings and hot tamales. The staff is always friendly, and it has retro appeal. My children love it!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Chamfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Original Freezo also viewed

 

Been to Original Freezo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing