We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Thai Food”
Review of Taste of Thai

Taste of Thai
Ranked #47 of 1,179 Restaurants in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
269 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Good Thai Food”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This restaurant has just moved to a new building across the street from the original, They have great Thai food. I love their Masaman Curry.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank micarooni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    72
    19
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level Contributor
123 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“One of our favorites”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

My boys and I love TOT! My youngest is quite picky, but he asks to go there at least once a week. Since all the dishes are made to order, they are really great about leaving out things that you don't want, and also adjusting the spiciness to your individual preference. I've never had a bad meal here. The service is always good too, even though they are quite busy most of the time.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShellPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vonore, Tennessee
Level Contributor
160 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Thai food”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We make a point of eating at this restaurant every time we seek great Thai food in Knoxville. The selection is extensive and the food very good. They are happy to adjust the dishes to accommodate your taste for "hotness". Service is efficient and fairly quick but each order is individually cooked. They have just moved to a new and better quality location basically across the street. If you want good Thai food - try this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1Timetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Level Contributor
129 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Hit and miss, won't go again”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I was in town to visit my old stomping grounds and went out of my way to hit this restaurant. What a let down. The place was overrun by locals...a good sign. It is not upscale, which for some reason, I thought that it would be. Rather, it was more like a fast food chinese restaurant atmosphere which wasn't a problem for us. We waited for about 15 minutes to be seated at 7:30 at night. We ordered fried spring rolls, green curry chicken (3 of 5 spice), and rama chicken (1 of 5 spice).

Let start with what was good: The spice level that they quote is roughly equivalent to what you would get elsewhere, maybe a touch lighter, but not far off. The rice was good (yes, I am struggling to not write a horrible review).

What was ok: The green curry chicken was adequate. If I went back again (which I would not), I would probably order a 4 or 5 of 5 spice. The taste was ok...edible. The dish was a bit light on chicken.

Now the bad...and I should say REALLY BAD: DO NOT...DO NOT order the fried spring rolls. Who creates a fried spring roll filled with nothing but stewed cabbage? Water had more taste than the spring rolls. Each member of our party took one bite and stopped. I should say that the waitress never inquired why we ate so little of the spring rolls. Also, don't bother with the rama chicken. It was overly sweet with no redeeming value. Again, the rama chicken was light on chicken as well. Again, the waitress did not ask why we ate essentially none of the rama chicken.

So, bottom line, if you live in Knoxville, you are being cheated out of eating good Thai. If you are visiting Knoxville, save your taste buds. If you are a Thai chef, head to Knoxville because they need you!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank serenityseekerFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Overated”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This restaurant seems to get fairly good reviews and I don't understand why. I have tried this restaurant a few times and it has always been very average at best, last night was no exception. My wife had chicken with garlic sauce and the chicken was so tough you really had a hard time chewing it plus the flavor was weird and bland. This is not a hard entre to prepare, very simple yet we were told we should or drunken noodle, "it much better". I also had to remove empty beer bottles from the table to make room for the food, that is really not my job. I won’t be returning anytime soon.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fagan222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste of Thai also viewed

 

Been to Taste of Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing