We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better Than Average Family Buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Golden Corral

Golden Corral
Ranked #757 of 1,164 Restaurants in Knoxville
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oak Ridge, Tn
Level Contributor
424 reviews
285 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Better Than Average Family Buffet”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Although there have been some ups and downs with this restaurant in the past, but this time the food was good despite a very large Friday night crowd. Several dishes were depleted when I arrived but the staff was working to keep all of the dishes filled. The waitress was very caring and kept the drink glasses full, the used plates hauled off, and even offered a complimentary cup of coffee for dessert.

Nothing fancy here, just a lot of family style dishes plus steaks, various ethnic dishes including some Mexican and Oriental dishes. Definitely family friendly with plenty of areas for large family gatherings too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    11
    6
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frankfort, Illinois
Level Contributor
140 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“golden corral knoxville”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The food was good and the service was excellent and friendly. I came with a group of twelve and we were seated right away. The only problem with this restaurant was that the washrooms needed a lot of cleaning.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JP1631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dandridge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
80 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Better than others”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We have eaten at Golden Corrals in the past with very little to brag about, but today, what a surprise. The place was packed and I mean packed. it was like a mad house. You would have though people were eating their last meal. We found one open table and proceeded to eat. The steak, medium well, was comparable or better than most steak houses we've been to. The crab salad was excellent and the hot wings would rival anyone's. Our server was slammed, but did a really good job keeping up. I don't know if they were just having a good day, but hats off to Golden Corral of Knoxville. We left feeling full and satisfied.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bobby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, Tennessee
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“the corral does it right”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

most buffet restraunts dont always spend alot of time on making things right they just throw it out there and good luck.Im pleased to say not this place! and yes Ive eaten here several times the latest was mothers day,and what a great job the staff did of handling the crowd plus, replenishing the food bars .In all great job i will be coming back for seconds and thirds.now this is a family type atmosphere not r date night spot unless you ve been dating awhile,it is crowded,noisy at times ,but the food service was great.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank terry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Alright I guess”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The whole family went here. I guess it was alright. Plenty to choose from but if ya want steak its more than likely a big chunk of fat

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MTMurrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Corral also viewed

 

Been to Golden Corral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing