We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere, good food, reasonable price”

Bistro at the Bijou
Ranked #46 of 1,179 Restaurants in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Located at the historic Bijou theatre, The Bistro has served the downtown area since 1980 with an eclectic mix of locally sourced food with an emphasis on healthy options along with gourmet hamburgers and fresh fish.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
183 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, good food, reasonable price”
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

I visit Knoxville frequently and look for "local flavor" when I am around for dinner. The Bistro is just a few blocks from Market Square where many of the locals gather to eat, and the walk is well worth it. I have eaten there on several occasions and enjoyed the food every time. The restaurant is in a converted building with exposed brick walls. Very quaint. On this most recent occasion, I ate a pork loin with butternut squash and brussel sprouts. Delicious. The prices are also very moderate, unlike some of the so-called higher end and trendy restaurants. Stop by and give it a try!

Helpful?
Thank BruceR_2832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    67
    20
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Level Contributor
327 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Good pimiento cheese”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I know I'm in the South when I see pimiento cheese on the menu. And it was excellent at this restaurant. Had a bit of a kick: horseradish, perhaps. Served on very good wheat bread with mushroom bisque. A delicious lunch.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Historic”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This place was recommended by the tour guide at the Blount Mansion. Here is where General Sanders, a Union soldier died. The atmosphere is quiet. Food is outstanding! We got the sweet potato fries and, stroganoff, and spinach salad.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank miamiswimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“My new favorite place in Knoxville”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We love going to downtown Knoxville to attend events and try different places to eat. We tried the Bistro at the Bijou the evening of Sunday, November 11 and were very pleased. Our server was very pleasant and the food was excellent... and reasonably priced. The atmosphere was cozy and quiet... perfect for conversation and relaxing. Just what we needed. I will be suggesting this restaurant as our new place to meet people when attending theater and other events downtown.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MCCM56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
111 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Most consistent and quality food in downtown Knoxville”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

On Gay St. Next to the Bijou Theatre. Often thought of a lunch place for the bankers and lawyers, the Bistro at the Bijou is also a great place for a casual dinner.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MEMcN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro at the Bijou also viewed

 

Been to Bistro at the Bijou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing