We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch while visiting UT Knox campus” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Calhoun's On The River

Calhoun's On The River
Ranked #10 of 1,159 Restaurants in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Memphis
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lunch while visiting UT Knox campus”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We took our son for a visit of the UT Knox campus. When asking around for places to eat, almost everyone mentioned Calhoun's.

My wife had the Prime Rib sandwich, it was a huge portion and very tasty. She loved it.
Myself and our friend that lives in Knoxville had the Bab-B-Que plate. It was good, but not the best I've had. I'm from Memphis and am partial to Memphis Bar-B-Que.
My son had the Country Fried Steak and he said it was good.
My daughter's Chicken Nuggets were not good - no taste and soggy.

If you like Bar-B-Que, I would recommend trying it. They give you large portions.

Also, you do have some great views of the river. Plus, plenty of space to walk around outside and take in the sights of the river. It's very near the UT campus.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank TigerMemphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    578
    425
    139
    46
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson
Level Contributor
598 reviews
398 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Great river view while eating great meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Get a great meal of Bar B Q or ribs or prime rib. It's all good and the view of the Tennessee River is right out the window. Desserts are great also and the corn pudding will melt in your mouth.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kirby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Consistently hit-or-miss”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Calhoun's is a Knoxville staple for a reason. Their burgers and barbecue are a treat for anyone visiting the area. They offer great salads and soup, as well. Give yourself a lot of extra time, because they are always a hit or miss when it comes to service or food. Some days a one-hour lunch break is more than enough time to eat, pay, and return to work. Other days one hour is how long it takes for the food to arrive at the table. Calling ahead is always dicey as well because it can take five or 45 minutes for a salad to be ready.
The service can be great, overwhelming (being asked 4 times what I would like to drink), or terrible (having the server forget my drink and then never refill it).
But if you can spare the time, having lunch/dinner overlooking the river can be a treat!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
551 reviews
425 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Great view of the river”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Great view of the river, seating inside and out. The service was great, the food above average. I have the smoked prime rib, very good, my friends had a BBQ sandwich and a prime rib sandwich, they both were very happy. We started with pretzels w/ beer cheese dip - I recommend it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank adam-kelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
76 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Loved it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Great food. Great BBQ. Great location. Great service. We had a blast there. The location was great. Took a walk after dinner along the river. Kids loved it too. The next time in Knoxville, we will go there again. Prices were reasonable as well. Did I mention-great BBQ!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pillayw126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calhoun's On The River also viewed

 

Been to Calhoun's On The River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing