We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique River Views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Calhoun's On The River

Calhoun's On The River
Ranked #10 of 1,159 Restaurants in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Unique River Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Great food especially the ribs, pleasant atmosphere we loved the fish begging to be fed. This time there were cat fish in the river as well as the delicious ones on the menu !! We have visited several time while on holiday from England visiting our family in Tennessee, and it never fails to please. We LOVE IT.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chicco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    578
    425
    139
    46
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
131 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful setting, great food, so-so wait staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

First things first: this restaurant is in a perfect setting and offers a great menu, so it's definitely worth going. Our waiter was not particularly attentive or savvy, but that did not impact our visit much at all.

First the setting. Can't imagine a better spot to eat in Knoxville than right on the river, patio seating no less. This was apparently the fist day of the fall season that the full restaurant menu was being offered on the patio (during the summer perhaps it is just limited menu out there?) and our waiter wasn't aware of it, although the hostess who seated us made it clear. Once that was cleared up, there were plenty of delicious choices on the menu.

We went with two adults, two college students, and three high schoolers, so we made our own fun! Appetizers were delicious -- pretzels with mustard dipping sauce and some spicy quesadillas -- and everyone's meal was terrific. Several of us got ribs, one got the vegetable plate, one a huge hamburger, and frankly I don't know what the rest got. But everyone was happy. Dessert of key lime pie and a chocolate delicacy of some sort were shared among the crew; also very yummy. We were not in a hurry as this was a reunion of sorts of our two families who seldom get together. Had we been in a hurry, we might have been mildly annoyed by the service of our waited. Seven of us ate very well and thoroughly for $99 before the tip, so prices are definitely reasonable.

I would stop there again the next time we're in Knoxville.

Oh - and a big tip here -- be sure to spend some time walking along the riverfront after you eat. It is beautifully landscaped with fountains, waterfalls, seating areas, an historic train... All sorts of fun available to walk off your dinner!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LyndaWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Had a nice seat with views of the river. Prime rib was ok, lots of choices for sides. Happy to have a few southern options to choose from unlike many of the restaurants in this area. Liked the atmosphere and large bar. Would eat here again.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank adrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morristown
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“30th anniversary”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Went to calhoun on the river after having a bad experience in pigeon forge and let me say that it was very good the hostess and wait staff did above average and the food was very good steaks and prime rib is very good ribs are average i will be back.It is nice to know that they know that we are the customers and its up to us if they get a good tip.This wait staff got a 25% plus tip they just did their job well and thats all i ask for when i go to have a nice dinner.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chris k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arrington, Tennessee
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hadn't been there in years...food was great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Went for lunch on a Sunday. It has great atmosphere by the river. I had the Cobb Salad and was great. Huge strips of bacon, grilled chicken, eggs, cheese, etc.. It was huge. Wife and daughter got BBQ and it was so much we took it home for 2 more meals. My son got chicken wings and they were very good as well. It was really a good lunch.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calhoun's On The River also viewed

 

Been to Calhoun's On The River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing