We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice barbecue”

Calhoun's On The River
Ranked #10 of 1,165 Restaurants in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Den Haag
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice barbecue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

This is a really nice restaurant. It is a very large place but you're still made to feel really comfortable. The food was really great, as was the service. The steak and ribs were absolutely worth it. I just believe that the wines on offer do not do justice to the food on offer.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Poemba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    597
    435
    143
    47
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Mediocre food. Not a clean enviroment.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

I brought my wife and kids for some ribs and steak. I do not understand how these ribs can possibly be voted best in america. I realized afterward they won the award back in the 80's. They were dry, overcooked and tough. My steak was ok, but nothing worth the price I paid. They are proud of their food because it shows in the prices. The service was good though.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank foodchic49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You'll want to move to Knoxville just for these ribs!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

Calhoun's was hopping for dinner on a Friday night and after a 40-minutes wait, we enjoyed the best ribs we've ever had! We are from Cincinnati - home of the "Rib King" Montgomery Inn Ribs - and these ribs beat our home-town legend hands down! They were very meaty, perfectly smoked/cooked and the sauce was fantastic! The most surprising revelation of the dinner may have been that Calhoun's side dishes were just as spectacular as the ribs. The Spinach Maria was delicious - a buttery, cheesy, soufflé-like concoction that melted in your mouth and the baked beans and mac-n-cheese were equally fantastic.

The only down sides - it is a very large, noisy restaurant and unfortunately the service was not nearly as good as the food. However, if I am anywhere near Knoxville again, I will definitely stop back at Calhoun's for their ribs.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RichnRedO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Love it there”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

We also sit out by the windows its a great view. I would say they are not very cheap however food is great I would try the catfish!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tbrown20040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worth going!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

If you get a reservation, ask to sit in the sunroom for the gorgeous view of the water. The outside patio has a different (smaller) menu in the summer, but is perfect and fast if it's what you're in the mood for. Not the most special or unique place ever, but you won't be disappointed and service was always flawless.

  • Visited July 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PegasusDVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calhoun's On The River also viewed

 

Been to Calhoun's On The River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing