We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Buffet so-so, other food is great”

Sitar Indian Cuisine
Ranked #120 of 1,165 Restaurants in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Richlands, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Buffet so-so, other food is great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

The buffet at Sitar tended to be very hit or miss, but everything I ordered off the menu was delicious. I basically just started ordering takeout from the menu, which was always good. I liked their korma very well and they always made it spicy enough for me. I suggest it for takeout more than anything.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lifeisanodyssey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    35
    6
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pigeon Forge, Tennessee
1 review
“Amazing restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

This is one of the best indian restaurants I have ever been to in Knoxville! They had many varieties of seafood, chicken, lamb, etc but I especially loved the mango lassi drink and the chicken tikka masala with rice. I would recommend this place to all my friends 100%

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crazy412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
1 review
“Worst”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

I went with my friends for dinner. It was worst Biriyani I ever had in US. Should make at least a good tea................

Helpful?
Thank Manjeesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knox
Level Contributor
52 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lunch Buffet”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I tried Sitar for lunch and the buffet was not good AT ALL!

The food was really greasy and bland. I suspect I might have a different experience for dinner (a la carte) service but the buffet is definitely not a value.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank asknox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
Level Contributor
189 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Indian cuisine, well done”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Best of the few Indian places in Knoxville. A converted fast-food building so no real ambiance except the wall decor, music, accents of the servers, AND papadam (crisp lentil wafers with condiments set on your table before ordering). Several good Indian beers and good vegetarian choices -- although excellent meat pakoras (stuffed pastries) my favorite non-veg treat. Attentive service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank centaur41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sitar Indian Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Sitar Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing