We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scrumptious”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chesapeake's

Chesapeake's
Ranked #4 of 1,164 Restaurants in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Scrumptious”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Before heading to the Tennessee Theatre for a play, my mother and I decided to eat here. I loved that they had decorated for the holidays by wrapping the pictures in various wrapping papers, all with a blue theme. The food was absolutely delicious. My favorite part of the meal was the crab bisque, which was sublime. However, the meal was huge and neither one of us could eat it all, leaving us with quite a bit left over and no way to save it. I would recommend splitting a meal, or ordering something lighter than an entree. Also, it seemed silly to pay that much for food we were unable to eat. Overall, though, we enjoyed the whole experience!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    132
    48
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, service and atmosphere”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Best seafood. Maryland crab cakes and all the rest! Downtown. Parking is entered by back street but is adequate and safe. A top notch restaurant.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mary Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best fresh seafood in Knoxville, TN”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

After attending a Vols football game, we walked from the stadium to Chesapeake's (about a mile or less) to have a relaxing and enjoyable evening and a wonderful dinner. Their seafood is not only flown in fresh daily, but the best you'll ever taste! The crab cakes are out of this world; also the seafood platter is huge and delicious, I would challenge anyone to eat the whole platter. Plus the basket of bread, a variety of rolls and breads, is incredible. Great wine list also. Also,fior you football fans, you pay to park on game day,but are refunded your parking fee if you eat at the restaurant after the game.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville TN
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food...but slow service”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Great food, but really slow service during lunchtime. Not a big crowd so perhaps the holidays threw them off...

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HB2KnoxvilleTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vonore, Tennessee
Level Contributor
160 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Old Seafood Restaurant that could be very good”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Second time we have eaten at this restaurant. It is located in downtown Knoxville but it is a bit hard to actually find. Had been the best seafood restaurant in Knoxville until Bonefish arrived. We ate on a Saturday night about 5:30 PM and it quickly became full by 6 PM. Strongly suggest you make reservations. Has a full bar and a wide selection of seafood on the menu. My Grouper was good but my wife's fish was undercooked significantly and had to send it back. They have some great oysters and their spinach side dish is excellent. Service was adequate.
Overall, we were a bit disappointed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1Timetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chesapeake's also viewed

 

Been to Chesapeake's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing