We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Calzone”
Review of Tomato Head

Tomato Head
Ranked #5 of 1,179 Restaurants in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Description: We believe less processed food tastes better. Not only does it taste better, it's much healthier too. You'll notice this difference in our house made dressings and handcrafted pizzas, as well as in our colorful salads and sandwiches. Fresh produce from East Tennessee farmers like Hines Valley Farm, Mountain Meadows Farm and Colvin Family Farm is featured in our daily specials. Well known for our vegan and vegetarian dishes, our menu has plenty for the carnivore. All of our proteins are nitrate/nitrite free, all natural and antibiotic free. Our house made lamb sausage is cooked in small batches to ensure freshness. Our sister bakery, Flour Head Bakery, prepares all of the Tomato Head's desserts and breads (including gluten free!) Each morning. By using unbleached and unbromated King Arthur Flour, we create healthier and better tasting pizza dough and sandwich breads. We also can easily accommodate your dietary needs. Whether it's a nut allergy, a preference for vegan fare or a gluten sensitivity, our staff will craft a dish to suit your tastes.
Latrobe, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Calzone”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Very friendly staff and the waitress was very friendly. I ordered a small Caesar Salad. I'd say it was just OK. It was a decent size, but the dressing, which I think was homemade, just didn't appeal to me. I'm not saying it was bad, it just wasn't for me. I ordered a calzone. That was delicious. Very generous portion. I would definitely order that again. Price was reasonable. It looks like it is under renovations but the renovations did not interfere with anything.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pilotjjc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    572
    295
    86
    21
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LaGrange, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Everything is good here! The pizza with andouille sausage and black beans and the ob boy sandwich are my fav. The salads are really good, especially with the sesame dressing. Great place for lunch

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ALS185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
304 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Yes and their pizza is worth every bite”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We had not visited since they had started the remodeling and using the new space. If you haven't been in recent months and stopped coming due to the crowded quarters, come on back. The pizza is just as tasty as ever with a wide choice of toppings and so is the Greek salad. The only change I would have made would be to order the smaller salad, as the portions are more than ample. Our server was very friendly and informed about the total menu. A strong four stars.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DNvisitors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East TN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“consistantly delicious”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

My husband and I come here when we are craving a pizza, but don't want the guilt. They use fresh ingredients in their unique already chosen combinations and their wide variety of choose your own toppings. The staff is well informed about ingredients and are ready to make suggestions for special needs diets.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pedalpaddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capon Springs, West Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lunch here was sooooo good!”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

My family and I had lunch here and it was really good. The menu offered a lot from which to choose. Food choices were very health conscious. Three of us had cheese quesadillas and one had a calzone. The portions were generous. The blend of the cheeses in the quesadillas was delicious, and the salsa and sour cream to go with it were just right. The calzone bread had such a light texture that was great. We all were pleased. The waitress was very nice, attentive and pleasant. I'd never been here before, but I'll go back any time!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tomato Head also viewed

 

Been to Tomato Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing