We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Par food”
Review of Tomato Head

Tomato Head
Ranked #5 of 1,179 Restaurants in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Description: We believe less processed food tastes better. Not only does it taste better, it's much healthier too. You'll notice this difference in our house made dressings and handcrafted pizzas, as well as in our colorful salads and sandwiches. Fresh produce from East Tennessee farmers like Hines Valley Farm, Mountain Meadows Farm and Colvin Family Farm is featured in our daily specials. Well known for our vegan and vegetarian dishes, our menu has plenty for the carnivore. All of our proteins are nitrate/nitrite free, all natural and antibiotic free. Our house made lamb sausage is cooked in small batches to ensure freshness. Our sister bakery, Flour Head Bakery, prepares all of the Tomato Head's desserts and breads (including gluten free!) Each morning. By using unbleached and unbromated King Arthur Flour, we create healthier and better tasting pizza dough and sandwich breads. We also can easily accommodate your dietary needs. Whether it's a nut allergy, a preference for vegan fare or a gluten sensitivity, our staff will craft a dish to suit your tastes.
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Par food”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The food is ok, but nothing to write home about and certainly not worthy of the #2 place on tripadvisor. I assume the novelty of more organic food is what draws people to a place such as this. I suggest looking elsewhere if you are looking for excellent quality food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JerryJames38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    572
    295
    86
    21
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Eclectic Soup, Sandwichs, etc”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Not necessarily my kind of place, but my wife loves it and I think the food is excellent! Highly recommend for lunch when visiting Knoxville and checking our Market Square

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RomerKnoxville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the Best”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

In my opinion, this is one of the top five restaurants in Knoxville. It is oriented towards lunch and casual evening dining with a menu of sandwiches, pizzas, burritos and salads. The food is very high quality and fresh, they bake their own bread, and there are new and creative items daily on the menu. While not a vegetarian restaurant, vegetarians and vegans will find a large selection; their unique, smoked tofu can be substituted in most menu items. There's nothing greasy on the menu, and you can't help but feel healthy after eating here.

The down side is that it is always crowded and there is often a wait. Also, the acoustics are such that it is usually noisy inside. Opt for the outside dining if the weather's nice, and watch the goings on of Market Square as you dine.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tijid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkesburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
78 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is by no means "fine dining", but I looove the casual atmosphere and the menu options. They have an emphasis on local and healthful foods, and everything we have tried is delicious. Their prices are also very reasonable. We love their calzones and sandwiches - they really have so much delicious stuff. Very reasonably priced and healthy kids menu items also. It gets really crowded on the weekends and weeknights, but it's worth the wait. Wish we had one of these in DC!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spencer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
“Good and Fresh Cuisine”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The pizza and salads are my favorites. But most everything is great here. Love the new more convenient location at The Gallery shopping center.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank schwinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tomato Head also viewed

 

Been to Tomato Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing