We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hall and Oates”
Review of Tennessee Theatre

Tennessee Theatre
Ranked #1 of 194 things to do in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the heart of downtown Knoxville, the Tennessee Theatre opened in 1928 as a movie palace. The Tennessee Theatre is the Official State Theatre of Tennessee and is listed in the National Register of Historic Places. The Tennessee Theatre is the region's leading performing arts facility with advanced technology, staging and lighting that draws top entertainment to the Knoxville area.
Monroeville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hall and Oates”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Not a bad seat in the house!!! Great concert venue!! I would love to see any performance there!! Concert or live broadway show. Plan to return again soon!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ilovenycAnnapolis_Md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    358
    42
    7
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seymour, Tennessee
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful theater”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I went to see Kevin James perform for my birthday this past June. The theater is really beautiful inside, similar to the Fox in Atlanta, but much smaller. The location is convenient and there are tons of parking garages all around that are free on weekends. It makes for a nice night out in the city.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ANP5112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Terrific”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I love the Tennessee Theatre. The restoration a few years ago was wonderful. Great atmosphere. Great shows. Lots of different types of entertainment.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank retiredteacher35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful History at your fingertips”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nothing better than spending a wonderful afternoon at the Tennessee watching a black and white movie or date night listening to a concert in a beautiful historic theater. The acoustics are wonderful and you can't ask for a better evening!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank aprilmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful!!!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I actually went in May, 2012 to see Riverdance with my daughters. The theatre is absolutely gorgeous. I had been before they refurbished it, so I spent intermission looking at all the beauty! I will always love the Tennessee Theatre!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nsg4Him
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tennessee Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Tennessee Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing