We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Below average”

Gavino's Pizzeria and Restaurant
Ranked #131 of 1,174 Restaurants in Knoxville
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
TN
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Below average”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Went to Gavinos and was disappointed. The pizza was so so and the salads were just average. When we arrived we were told they were out of garlic knots and then later were told they could make some so we said OK. When they arrived they were basically store brand biscuits slightly burned and sprinkled with a little butter and chopped garlic - they were gross.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TN-Worm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    13
    9
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seymour, Tennessee
Level Contributor
121 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Disappointing quality and value”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The pizza is great but just not worth the price. You can only get a 18" or slices. The 18" just cheese, no toppings, is $16. That is enough money to cover their homemade sauce and cheese. The turn-off, the insult, is that for $3.50 a topping ($6 for 2 toppings), you get THREE PIECES of a topping per slice. Seriously? The place is never busy, and service is still slow. Our waitress was never around. We won't be back. Oh and they have a mirror running along the whole wall so you get to watch yourself eat....how appealing.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank 3D0Gnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
45 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“5 star food”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Best New York Pizza in Knoxille. Great scratch made Italian food as well. The service can be hit and miss, though. But, once the food comes out, it is really worth it! Great Tiramisu!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I really wanted to love it...”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Food was delicious! I enjoyed that part of my 2nd Gavino's experience.
I waited tables for years when I was younger. Several different establishments with a variety of patrons. I am a very patient customer--to a fault, even. My service tonight was terrible. Two of our orders came out 15 minutes after the pizza with no explanation (or contact, for that matter) from the waitress. She never offered a drink refill to any at my table. She asked once (10 min after the entrees arrived, 25 minutes after the pizza arrived) if everything was ok. Two items we ordered were not available, something we learned as she handed us a replacement without consulting us to see if the replacement would be suitable.
The food is good, very good. I felt the prices were slightly steep on my 1st visit but after dining there I was willing to pay them on a return visit. After tonight's experience I won't be going back. There are other local restaurants, Italian and otherwise, that I will support.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FormerWaitress99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Italian- like being back in Jersey!”
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

For anyone missing REAL pizza in K'ville this is the place. Great Italian dishes too-try the manicoti and the shrimp and scallops in brandy sauce. To die for!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mespicee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gavino's Pizzeria and Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Gavino's Pizzeria and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing