We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Market Square Divine”
Review of Tupelo Honey

Tupelo Honey
Reserve with OpenTable
Tupelo Honey is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 1,193 Restaurants in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Our Southern dishes & libations are served with a creative twist & a smile. When we play with our food (& we think it's okay), the result is scrumptious. We're rooted in the Mountain South, & our menu is inspired by time-honored traditions: pickling & frying, canning & preserving, & utilizing seasonal produce and ingredients to prepare delicious, scratch-made creations.
Chevy Chase,MD
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Market Square Divine”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had brunch with our family. This is a very popular location with good people viewing on Market Square. The atmosphere is back porch comfortable, nice decor and good service. The biscuits were delicious as was the pepper bacon. Omelettes were made to order with very fresh ingredients.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarySAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    645
    365
    156
    69
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lost its Lustre”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Saturday was the second time we've dined at Tupelo Honey. We probably won't go back again. We waited over 15 minutes for anyone to even acknowledge our presence at our table, having to finally pull another waiter aside to take our order. Nothing will sour me on a restaurant faster than poor and indifferent service. I don't care how good the food is otherwise. Our table was also wobbly. Serving an oversized biscuit before the meal, though a nice thought, is overkill. A biscuit half the size or less would be plenty. The entrees were pretty good but nothing out of the ordinary. We had high hopes for Tupelo Honey as the showplace restaurant in Knoxville, but there are better places to dine. It's lacking in attention to details that should differentiate it from other places.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KnoxDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevierville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Always delicious!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

My husband and I love this place! It has a great location with outside seating on a warm night. We used to travel to Asheville to eat at the restaurant there, but now we can stay closer to home. The food is always outstanding!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank espy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Super yummy.”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Firstly be warned. Knoxville I believe is ground zero for the invasion of the body snatchers. Never have I visited a big city with so few people. I was scared to look through windows in case the rooms beyond contained clone producing pods.
By chance we stumbled on Market Square which is presumably where the remaining humans gather. Most of the restaurants in the square looked worthy of a visit but we decided upon the Tupelo Honey Café and struck gold.
We sat outside, opting for safety in numbers. The waitress was a bit dopey, possibly a clone but the ambiance (street performers) was such that this was easy to over look. While waiting for our meals we were served hot biscuits & homemade blueberry jam. Wow! I'd always thought biscuits were stodge & blueberry jam flavorless. Wrong on both accounts at this location. The only downside is having feasted on this treat, appetites were nullified by the time the entrees arrived. A small gripe & a problem worth having.
The star of my meal was the fried in butter corn on cob dusted with parmesan. Delish & something I hope I can duplicate.
To drink try the honey, mint tea. Just soooo good!
Well worth the visit but you may want to do it during the daytime, just in case!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lamxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Unique food, Awesome biscuits”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Located in Market Square, this restaurant offers a unique menu with great beer. We are relatively new to the Knoxville area as our daughter is beginning her first year at UT. We have eaten here twice and haven't been disappointed. The menu offers some interesting takes on some American standards that only make them better.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave46439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tupelo Honey also viewed

 

Been to Tupelo Honey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing