We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff and food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chuy's

Chuy's
Ranked #62 of 1,164 Restaurants in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great staff and food.”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The staff was great and so was the food. My wife and I actually split a meal as the portions are so large. Kids loved the meals and the staff helped them pick winners.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank AZmijewski1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    95
    43
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mason, tn
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good food, great service”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I stopped here after being in the bike all day. It was busy when we walked in but they had immediate seating an the bar. We took a booth. Our waitress was Amber H and she was patient with us as we had never been to a Chuy's and were not familiar with the menu. My wife ordered the Chika Chika Boom Boom and I had another item that was a little too spicy for me. Amber had told me it was a little hot but my tolerance level must have been way lower than hers. It WAS good and a little sour cream made it much easier for me to eat it.
That would not be enough for me to lower my scoring as I should have known better. Once I got the sour cream it was still good and I ate it all. I would not hesitate to return here on another trip through Knoxville.
The caveat was they offer an extremely generous military discount.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harvey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
77 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“All the food tasted great!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I will make this one short! CHICKA-CHICKA BOOM BOOM was fantastic and left just the right zing in my mouth. Service was great. The waitress took very good care of my family. 5yr old and 2yr old shared the chicken nuggets and fries. 11yr old had kids cheese quesadilla. Wife had Chicken Taco Salad. Plus all the chips and salsa you can eat!!!!!!

All tortillas and taco shells made fresh. Very clean and family friendly!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bamajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
55 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Always great food and service! One of my favorites!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Had lunch here on a Friday and although crowded, the four of us were seated promptly. Food was delicious! We were able to sample their ranch cheese sauce and their pulled pork offered on Tuesdays and ended up ordering that and it came with rice and beans and I always order sliced avocados and homemade tortillas made right there in the restaurant. My Cousin and his wife had the Flan and we had the Tres Leche for dessert and they were both awesome! Very reasonably priced even with the drinks and desserts ordered. I have been twice before, once during happy hour which has the free buffett with drink at the bar. Nice! Been on a crazy busy Saturday night and still receive great food and service. One of my favorite places in Knoxville.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michellentn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corpus christi
Level Contributor
47 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nothing like Austin, San Antonio or Houston”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Waitress had no clue in the questions I had about the menu or even seem interested. All I asked if they had or could make a "Puffy Taco." Instead of finding out, she stated, "If it isn't on the menu, we don't have it." The place was crowed and when the food was served, it look as if it was thrown on the plate and the waitress just walked away without asking if we needed anything else. The food didn't even come close to the Chuy's in Texas. If you don't know what Tex-Mex or Mexican is suppose to be or taste like; then this is an alright place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CorpusChristiKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chuy's also viewed

 

Been to Chuy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing