We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth a 5 hour drive”
Review of Zoo Knoxville

Zoo Knoxville
Ranked #5 of 202 things to do in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Fun on the outside and serious about animals on the inside, Zoo Knoxville is committed to giving our guests an unforgettable experience.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The zoo staff were fantastic. But the zoo itself wasn't worth the drive. A lot of the exhibits were closed and they were adding new exhibits. The animals didn't have a of roaming space. Truly disappointed.

1  Thank LCovington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina R, Public Relations Manager at Zoo Knoxville, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

We're so sorry to hear that your visit was less-than-perfect, and want to apologize if we gave you the impression that we had empty exhibits. All our animals are on view unless vet care requires otherwise or they may be rotating with another animal, like our tigers. We do have a beautiful new Tiger Forest under construction in the west section of our zoo, and we have moved those animals to new habitats. Although we have begun demolition on those old exhibits, I'm afraid it may have appeared that we had animals off view since those old exhibits are indeed empty. We apologize for any confusion!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,032)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

878 - 882 of 1,032 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2013

We are frequent visitors to this zoo. About once a year. We come from Chattanooga to go here. We tried out the new Safari Splash splash area and it was very cute and fun. The kids loved it! Even have shaded bench for parents to sit on. This zoo does have a lot of shade in certain areas and they put in sprayers to cool off with along the way. Because this zoo can get hot. It was blazing today. But they seem to be making ways to handle the heat with the Splash park and the sprayers and shade.

The zoo is very nice and has play areas, lots of good animals, a nice air conditioned play area indoors. They are still working on redoing some of the tiger pens and for now they are in a temporary pen. But they seem to be always trying to improve. I had a fun day there today with my kids and my friends.

The food is not great just burgers and fries, etc so if you don't want that kind of bad for you food or want to pay for it, bring in a cooler or a picnic. I always do and they allow it. They don't have healthy food for sure.

1  Thank aprilsumner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

They have all the animals you'd want to see at a zoo. Plus, they have a lot of smaller, neat exhibits that are surprising to find and explore. Lots of kids play areas, so bring them for the day and let the zoo babysit.

No kids? The zoo is fun for you as well. Take your time seeing the animals, reading about them and exploring at a slower pace.

The good thing about this zoo is that it's not too big and you get to see everything. Makes your money worth it.

There are shows here that are fun to see as well, and I thought food and beverage prices were fair.

Thank Brandon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Want to see bears without going into the Smoky Mountains - hit the zoo! Their exhibit is front and center and the bears are too!

Thank Cyndi1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This zoo is obviously transistioning from the old school style of exhibits , iron cages, to newer more natural ones! The gorilla enclosure was fantastic. My wife and kids thought the otters were so cute that we should get some as pets! The depressing iron cages are the only real downside.

Thank bobtalbot13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zoo Knoxville also viewed

 

Been to Zoo Knoxville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing