We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They are making tons of great improvements!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zoo Knoxville

Zoo Knoxville
Ranked #7 of 188 things to do in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Knoxville's largest year-round attraction, Knoxville Zoo is situated on 53 acres and home to over 800 animals from around the world.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Soddy Daisy, Tennessee
Level Contributor
273 reviews
160 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“They are making tons of great improvements!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

I have reviewed this before, but wanted to write another one. I went yesterday with my 5 year old twin boys and had a great time! They have been making a lot of improvements that really enhance the zoo! They added a huge new splash pad that is free with zoo admission! They also are making some new pens for the lions, tigers and monkeys. They have a huge play area in the Kids Cove that is really fun for the kids with slides, a giant sandbox, a carousel, petting zoo, and water play area. Also all the animals to see. Also the new splash pad.

I was very impressed. I wish I lived closer and we would be there all the time! Great zoo! Highly recommend!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank aprilsumner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    277
    122
    64
    33
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
213 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Nice day at the zoo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

The knoxville zoo is very nice and walkable for little children. Not too spread out and the attractions can be seen by the little ones as well as the display glass is usually down low. Check out the red panda;s, they are so cute... They have free days periodically so check for these days.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great for Knoxville sized city!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

They have so much to offer, with young kids can easily take two days to really enjoy.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank alicia j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not one of the better zoos”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

I thought this zoo was way overpriced for what they have to offer. on top of that they even charge for parking. I have been to much nicer zoos and at a more reasonable price.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank William O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Top, Tennessee
Level Contributor
167 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“If you're visiting East TN, this is a great stop.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

And if you're a Knox resident, you need to come back- our little zoo of old has turned into a first-class operation with great animal exhibits and several more are under construction. Right inside the first thing you see is "Black Bear Falls" and it is an amazing facility. The observation areas include 'tunnels' with porthole windows down low to the ground for little kids, it's a great touch. The lions and tigers are visible from several viewing areas, and the red pandas are adorable. And later on the kids can even ride a camel!

Cost for adults is about $20 each, less for kids. If you go more than twice in a year, you should get an annual pass for less overall cost.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank TheGrandMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zoo Knoxville also viewed

 

Been to Zoo Knoxville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing