We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An A for quality and a fabulous building! Wish it were closer!”

Knoxville Museum of Art
Ranked #9 of 191 things to do in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New Jersey
Level Contributor
347 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“An A for quality and a fabulous building! Wish it were closer!”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Lovely and varied art. My favorite thing were the dollhouse miniatures on the first floor, the Thorne Collection. Lots of space for kids!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Annelyse C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    70
    32
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vandalia, Ohio
Level Contributor
147 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“I would recommend for all ages”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

This was a wonderful museum to visit. I would recommend it for all ages. There are a total of three floors but the lower level appears to be mainly used for classes, etc. There is a good variety of items and some very unique pieces. The staff was helpful. There is no admission fee.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DebbieVandalia_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“More robust than expected”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Very interesting. My daughter loved the miniature room exhibit. There was so much to look at. It was a good place to spend an hour or two while visiting Knoxville.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Araunah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Fine Downtown Treasure”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

It proved a delightful find at a delightful price. Free admission and free parking. Galleries are uncrowded and viewing is not overbearing. Walls are uncrowded and works feel open and free. The exhibition of works in glass is surreal. I had a grand time with my cameras on those glass works. Be sure to see permanent exhibition of East Tennessee artists - first rate. Some of modern 3D work on top floor is spectacular.

Location of museum is perfect. Right next to Sun Sphere, World's Fair Park and War Memorial.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Castleseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
92 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Amazing small museum”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

I really enjoyed this art museum. They had some of the most unique forms of art I've seen in an art museum. I spent about 2 hours and really enjoyed the traveling show section with the glass. The museum is bright, airy, and easy to walk around. Another surprise it didn't cost anything unless you chose to leave a donation. Parking is also free.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingal49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Knoxville Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Knoxville Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing