We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This isn't Asian food”

WokChow Fire Seared Asian
Ranked #358 of 1,179 Restaurants in Knoxville
Cuisines: Asian
Description: WokChow Fire Seared Asian is Knoxville’s newest place to enjoy tantalizing Asian cuisine. The food comes fast and fresh, and with entrees $8.95 or less the value is as good as the taste. We offer take out and delivery, or enjoy your favorite beverage with your meal in our elegant dining room. Sushi is offered daily after five, with a menu of 39 items ranging in price from 3-8.50! We will serve daily lunch specials, creative menu items, and a dynamic beer and wine selection. Don't forget Wednesday is 1/2 price bottled wine night, and when you visit be sure to join our frequent diner club for free food opportunities.We hope to see you soon!
Restaurant details
Description: WokChow Fire Seared Asian is Knoxville’s newest place to enjoy tantalizing Asian cuisine. The food comes fast and fresh, and with entrees $8.95 or less the value is as good as the taste. We offer take out and delivery, or enjoy your favorite beverage with your meal in our elegant dining room. Sushi is offered daily after five, with a menu of 39 items ranging in price from 3-8.50! We will serve daily lunch specials, creative menu items, and a dynamic beer and wine selection. Don't forget Wednesday is 1/2 price bottled wine night, and when you visit be sure to join our frequent diner club for free food opportunities.We hope to see you soon!
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“This isn't Asian food”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

For those who like PF Changs, this is a good place. For those who like Asian food, this is not (that's a dig at PF Changs, which is actually not Chinese food, if you were wondering). The atmosphere, the decor, the staff, the overall ambiance is very good. But the food was terrible. We ordered three dishes, the mongolian beef was ok, the curry was too salty and not very curryish, the Singapore noodles was not edible - it was first off not Singapore noodles as you would get at every other place - just wrong - but worse, it was so salty, it was not edible. We would up rinsing the noodles with hot water and turned it into a soup noodle. So the poor review is a nod to the atmosphere otherwise it would be terrible.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dzb3kv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    5
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very disappointed in food and service”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Went in Friday night and took forever to get the food though it's not busy. They claimed that the sushi takes time to prepare but it tasted terrible with Caucasian chef preparing them. Ordered Drunken noodle with Chicken but was given beef instead. it's so dark inside I could not see what was on my plate and they were salty!! Have to go back to use my groupon since they won't honor it that night due to it's for 4 persons but our kids are in PNO program. Hope the next visit is not this bad:-)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Knoxmomoftwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank J, Manager at WokChow Fire Seared Asian, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
I remember this visit. Thank you for dining at WokChow. Normally we do not respond to negative reviews online, allowing the positive ones to shine thru, however we felt there were some inaccuracies that we wanted to correct. We ran a one time Groupon deal that this guest took advantage of. Offered in a dinner for 2 or 4 package depending on which one was purchased. This guest purchased a Groupon for four guests, but only arrived with two. They mentioned their children were in a special program, but they were not with them. We did not want to give four guests worth of food to two people, so we did honor the Groupon by allowing them to use half this visit, and the other half another time. That was the guests idea and we were happy to agree. Unfortunately this started the dining experience on the wrong foot, and I'm afraid we couldn't recover in their eyes. They ordered sushi and two entrees. We were preparing the sushi first as an appetizer, and the guest walked up to the kitchen and asked where the food was. We were putting the finishing touches on the sushi and the ticket time was only 9 minutes. Sushi does take longer than our regular stir fry, but 9 minutes is well within our timing standards.
We immediately bumped up their entrees and sent them out soon after.

They are correct in that we have a caucasion sushi chef. We also have two hispanic ones. We have been open two years and we have not specifically advertised for Asian Chefs. It turns out that over the span of time we have been open, we have only had one Asian Chef apply. His availability was not consistent with the restaurant's needs so we had to pass on him. We are thinking about producing a sign that says "Asian people apply here", but haven't gotten around to it yet.

I knew they were upset because of the groupon and had my team check on them and monitor their experience closely. There was no mention then of the beef or salty issues.

We look forward to the next visit and will work just as hard as usual to provide a fantastic dining experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
179 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good, food, relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stopped here on a trip down I40. Enjoyed it and will go again. The 4 of us liked almost everything we had. The fried rice is really good. I liked the eggrolls as well. The only thing that didn't go over well with us was the egg drop soup. It's different than you might expect, more brothey than eggey if you know what I mean. All in all though we liked it and will go back. Fast, friendly service. Oh, you order up front. If you're like me and hate standing in front of a menu on the wall the first time you go to a place then sit down and look at their menu. They don't mind. Then go back and order.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank P D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“I love Asian food”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This place is fantastic. I have eaten at Asian restaurants all over the world. The food is very good. The atmosphere is casual and relaxing. Free wifi. The portions are large with plenty for take-home leftovers. The crab rangoons are good. The fried rice is one of the best in Knoxville. We will dine here again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeepDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
121 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good "Fast Food" Asian”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

This is not a typical sit-down restaurant, but it's hard to tell when you walk in. The ambiance is fantastic, the staff is super friendly, and the menu had everything Asian you can think of, even sushi (which was fantastic). The only difference is you order from the front and serve yourself to drinks and silverware. So you get full sit-down quality and friendliness of staff at fast food prices. AND they will deliver.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed WokChow Fire Seared Asian also viewed

 

Been to WokChow Fire Seared Asian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing