We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Price for Great Shows!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarence Brown Theatre

Clarence Brown Theatre
Ranked #12 of 188 things to do in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
264 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good Price for Great Shows!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

The plays here are very affordable and I've always been really impressed with the quality of the productions. The venue is fairly small (seats about 550). But that means you can get a good view of the stage from pretty much anywhere!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 613melissai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarencebrown, Public Relations Manager at Clarence Brown Theatre, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thanks so much for the great post about the theater!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    17
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
256 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Spamalot was an Excellent Show”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

I had not been to Clarence Brown to see a show since my college days. I was blown away by the quality of two show I saw this season. Sweeney Todd and Spamalot were well worth the trip and cost of admission. I will be back next season.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank TheSuze12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Spectacular talent in a classic venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

The CBT is a gem for the Knoxville area. As a LORT theatre, it maintains extraordinarily high production values. Set design is always a thing of beauty--I have probably seen close to 100 shows and am continually amazed at the creativity in making the set fit the show (notables: Amadeus, Streetcar Named Desire, Tommy, Man of La Mancha, and the perennial favorite, Christmas Carol).

What really makes a great theatre is the people involved. As a teaching theatre, the CBT uses the talents and passion of the superb faculty in the Department of Theatre at the University of Tennessee, along with wonderful graduate and undergraduate students. There are typically some professionals who are brought in as well. This is a place that knows how to do it right, and does so with production values that rival Broadway at a fraction of the cost. If you haven't been there, go! It is a wonderful experience and every season brings a remarkably rich fabric of new plays to see.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bruce-Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing show at an awesome theatre!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

Saw Spamalot this week, and loved it! Every element was spot on, from the music and signing, dancing, the set, costumes, you name it. I've been wanting to see this for years now, and always miss the chance - so glad we finally did! Congratulations to everyone involved in this product, you all did a fantastic job, we appreciate your hard work in bringing Spamalot to life here in Knoxville!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Clarence Brown rivals NYC theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

As someone who travels to NYC often to catch world-class theater, my tastes can be quite selective and appreciative of quality theater. Catching the recent version of CBT's Spamalot made me grateful that I live in a university city with these sorts of advantages. We are season ticket holders and continue to be impressed with each production. We particularly appreciate the "talk back" sessions after a performance.

Not only does CBT bring in Equity actors from other major metro areas, but it continues to provide a real-world learning environment for UT students. The quality for the price and experience is unbeatable.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank nsvtenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clarence Brown Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Clarence Brown Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing