We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Preservation Pub

Preservation Pub
Ranked #3 of 40 Nightlife in Knoxville
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We were in Knoxville on a Friday and didn't venture out for dinner until quite late. The Market Square was really busy and none of the restaurants had an outdoor table for us. We spotted the Preservation Pub's roof top terrace and opted for bar snacks instead of dinner. It was a cool, happening place - the Moonshine Bar. We enjoyed cocktails, beer and wine with above average quesadillas and BBQ nachos. It was great to watch night fall and get the vibe from the Market Square below, where Despicable Me was on a big screen. The band playing on the first floor was jazz/blues and not to our taste so we didn't stay to listen to them.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank S-ABSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    10
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Danville, IL
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“downtown knoxville”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I love Market Square in downtown Knoxville. We went to the Preservation Pub on a Friday night, the doorman told us it was Blues so we paid our $5 and entered, only to hear music so loud you couldn't talk that sounded heavy metal to me. But on the bright side they have 2 more floors. We sat on the second floor and it was very nice, décor was lovely. The bartender said if we hadn't been up to the roof top we should really go so we did. Lovely evening in the fresh air with a very nice waiter. Great place if you get off of the first floor.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank cussingcook1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Stayed all night!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We were in town on St. Patrick's Day and stumbled into Preservation Pub because all the eateries in Market Square had hour-long waits for dinner (why?!). They had great bar food and excellent beer. After the Knoxville Ice Bears hockey game, we wandered back to the Pub for the Talking Heads tribute band and Highland Blessed beer all night long. This place is the BALLS and we'll be visiting again!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KatS_Unique_Char
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Each floor is a new adventure!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

It's like 3 bars in one, with good prices and great entertainment. The roof is one of the most trendy places in Knoxville and has an awesome view overlooking Market Square. Pres Pub is a must for anybody looking to have a good time downtown!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best place to have a beer in Knoxville...”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

For people who like to enjoy a wide selection of beers and not have to deal with a rowdy atmosphere, this is a very nice place. Very laid back, the live music can get a bit too loud at times, but other than, this place is pretty nice.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank nghisus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Preservation Pub also viewed

 

Been to Preservation Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing