We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic and Delicious”
Review of Holy Land Market

Holy Land Market
Ranked #10 of 1,179 Restaurants in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
1 review
“Authentic and Delicious”
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

I discovered this gem on Groupon. SO glad I did! My grandmother, a very picky eater, loved the food too. They close at 7 pm so plan to get there early or call in a take out order. It is owned and operated by a husband and wife who make you feel welcome. It is a market, so don't be surprised by the simple surroundings. If I could afford to eat there every day I would. Healthy. Large portions. Short wait. Pay after you eat.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    60
    15
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stop on the way to Pigeon Forge!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Delicious beef and chicken kebabs in a pita, the best hummus we've ever had, gracious and friendly owners, and a small specialty food store make this place a great stop for lunch!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JDJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
69 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Consistently Delicious”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Eating at the Holy Land Market is a total experience. It's a unique Restaurant and a wonderful Middle Eastern Grocery Store as well. You will find things there like lamb products, including ground lamb, lamb shanks, three different kinds of sesame seeds, several varieties of olives and the list goes on and on.
The food is prepared personally by the owners, Denise and Walter and his cousin. We have eaten there several times and the food is consistently Delicious. The other night, my wife had lasagna and I had stuffed cabbage, both were extremely Terrific. Walter even prepared a special desert for us. The Turkish Coffee is the real deal.
I took a friend there for lunch yesterday and he said it's his new favorite restaurant. Dan is a Humus Gourmet and he said The Holy Land has the best humus he has ever had. Denise makes six different kinds.
Once you eat there, you'll be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dgorden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluefield, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best food ever!!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I were on our honeymoon and we wanted something good to eat. This place is the place to go!! I am Greek and a tough sell on what is good Greek food, but the owners really know their way around a kitchen. I highly recommend eating here!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TARDISchaser138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“OMG!!! Best Food in K'town!”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The food is great and so is the staff. My 3 adult children and I make a trip to Holy Land a "must do" every time we are together. I have never eaten anything there that wasn't delicious. We try some new salad every time we go. My son is partial to the gyros and my daughters love the lamb stuffed grape leaves. I love the hummus and the various salads; tabouleh, fatoush, and a delicious chick pea one. I can't say enough great things about this place . The owners are helpful and friendly . My absolute favorite restaurant in Knoxville - best food ever.*****

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hoduwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holy Land Market also viewed

 

Been to Holy Land Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing