We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University
Ranked #15 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Certificate of Excellence
Eden, NC, United States
1 review
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We were in town to visit the University of Tennessee. The hotel is very convenient to the University, with many restaurants within walking distance. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful! Room was very nice, clean and updated. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Debra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIKNOX, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you so much for your fantastic review. We love hearing that we made you feel special and that you loved our location and the many services that we offer.

We are so glad you choose to stay with us and we certainly hope you will soon stay with us again when visitng the University of Tennessee.

Safe travels,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    133
    45
    32
    25
See reviews for
263
90
37
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Germantown, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This Hilton property is excellent including location, amenities, upkeep but especially the staff. Ms. Tracy Hicks is the leader of the team and sets the stage for a superior guest experience. I made a mistake in booking my original reservation. Ms. Hicks and the staff worked proactively and hard to make up for my mistake, so my family had a room. They went out of their way to make this happen, during a busy weekend when they were basically sold out and could have turned anyone away. They understood my dilemna and helped resolve it for me. They did not have to do this but did it gladly. The weekend stay was a tremendous success and I will stay at this property anytime I am in the Knoxville area!!!!
Mike F.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIKNOX, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Mike F:

Thank you so very much for the amazing comments and the stellar rating you have given to our property. We, too, love our GM! She sets the tone for this property and all of our team members here reflect her sense of hospitality.

It means so much to our team here that you were treated well and that you had a great experience with us. We want you to stay with us again when your travels bring you back to town.

Please let us know if we may be of service to you in any way, and again, thank you for the wonderful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This hotel is beautiful! The rooms and lobbies are spotless! The front desk was very helpful.

It's literally right next to campus. We came to town for a basketball game and were able to walk to the arena. It's also within walking distance of a lot of bars and restaurants. The "bar district" is right down the street.

I only have two complaints. The first is that there is literally no parking lot. You must valet your car which is an extra $10. However on the flip side, the hotel offers a shuttle to take you anywhere you want to go w/in certain hours. So that was a nice bonus even though we didn't utilize it.

The second is that hotel no longer carries The Weather Channel. It's still labeled as The Weather Channel in their guide, but it's actually Weather Nation (which is really crappy). I like to flip on The Weather Channel when I'm in a different city to the local weather on the eights.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cchikergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIKNOX, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for your comments with regard to your recent stay at the HGI Knoxville University. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked our team members at the front desk! We too agree that our hotel has one of the best locations in downtown Knoxville, and that our hotel is the most beautiful one as well! And thank you for noticing our housekeeping efforts - our housekeeping team has been recognized by Hilton for their amazing abilities to keep this hotel clean and sparkling - but it means so much to us to have a guest point it out!!

The Weather Channel was discontinued by Direct TV about three weeks ago and we are working hard to have the Weather Nation upgraded and customized for our guests - I am so sorry you were disappointed in that service because we know how important that it is when you are traveling.

Thank you again for the amazing ratings you gave our hotel - we do hope to see you in Knoxville again soon.

Save travels!

Tracy Hicks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerfield, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This is an excellent hotel and the staff is very polite and professional. Location is right at the University of Tennessee for any visit to campus. Staff creates you as soon as you arrive and provides polite, and courteous service to any of your needs.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Harold S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Very clean hotel - hands down the best customer service I ever received! The valet men are very accomodating - Dexter was great! Ruth went above and beyond to help me with a last minute mtg and there were no hidden charges or surprises.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Sherry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIKNOX, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to tell the world about your great experience. Our team truly loves taking care of the guests - and we are as thrilled as punch that you were satisfied. It means the world to us that our guests 'feel the love' while staying with us.

We look forward to having you as our guest again in the future.....safe travels!

Tracy Hicks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

My experience at this HGI was fantastic! The service I received from all of the staff was delightful. Valet, front desk, and restaurant staff were always nice and helpful. Our car was returned within a couple of minutes of requesting it, our breakfast was delicious, and the workout room was perfect. The rooms are spacious, modern, and very clean. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily_Caldwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIKNOX, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Emily:

We are thrilled that you felt welcome and appreciated while staying with us recently. The only thing we love more than our hotel are the amazing guests we have the pleasure of serving. Please come and stay again - we look forward to your next visit in Knoxville!

Again - a BIG THANK YOU for the amazing review! It means the world to us!

Safe travels,

Tracy Hicks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

This hotel just opened last fall, right in the heart of campus. Great location right on the Strip at 17th St. Very convenient to campus and downtown. Staff was very friendly and helpful. One pet peeve though; no blanket in room to substitute for the massively heavy comforter.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIKNOX, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thanks so much for staying with us during your visit to Knoxville. We’re glad you decided to give us a try, and that you were pleased with the service, cleanliness and location of the hotel. I made a note about your request for a blanket and we will be sure to pass that along to our housekeeping team. Our staff tries to bring personal attention into every guest interaction, and your comments are very important to us.

Thanks again for the kind words and we really hope to see you the next time you are in Knoxville.

Safe travels!

Tracy Hicks
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knoxville hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn World's Fair Park-Knoxville
0.8 mi away
Hilton Knoxville
Hilton Knoxville
#22 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
0.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Knoxville Cumberland House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
Crowne Plaza Knoxville
#23 of 87 in Knoxville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Knoxville Papermill Drive
1.4 mi away
Knoxville Marriott
Knoxville Marriott
#39 of 87 in Knoxville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University
Address: 1706 Cumberland Avenue, Knoxville, TN 37916-3002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Knoxville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 87 Hotels in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the center of Knoxville's downtown on historic Cumberland Avenue near campus, is the newly opened Hilton Garden Inn University. Featuring 24-hour valet parking, complimentary business services and internet services, we offer travelers the convenience of a full-service restaurant and bar (including outdoor seating with firepit), indoor meeting space, conversatory off the main lobby and 24-hour Pavilion Pantry. Come and see for yourself what everyone in Knoxville is talking about! We are proud to be the 2014 winner of Excellence from TripAdvisor!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Knoxville/University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Campus Hotel Knoxville
Days Inn Knoxville
Knoxville Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing